Cork goalkeeper Martina O'Brien nominated for first ladies All-star Award

October 8th, 2015 9:29 AM

By Southern Star Team

Cork players, from left, Bríd Stack, Briege Corkery, Geraldine O'Flynn, Valerie Mulcahy, Deirdre O'Reilly and Rena Buckley, who have each won 10 All-Ireland senior football. medals

Share this article

All-Ireland champions Cork lead the way with 11 All-Star nominations after another terrific campaign

BALLINASCARTHY’S Martina O’Brien has been nominated for her first LGFA TG4 All-Star Award.

The West Cork woman won her third All-Ireland with Cork last month and after a superb campaign the Cork goalkeeper has been shortlisted for an All-Star.

In total, Cork have 11 All-Star nominations after the county won its tenth All-Ireland in 11 seasons after victory over Dublin in the final last month.

Cork’s Marie Ambrose is rewarded for a fine debut season with her first nomination where she is joined by team mates Vera Foley, Geraldine O’Flynn, Bríd Stack and Deirdre O’Reilly as the Rebellettes defensive award nominees.

Briege Corkery and Rena Buckley created history as they claimed an incredible ‘double double’ of All-Ireland wins and both are nominated in the midfield positions, their eighth and fourth respectively.

All-Ireland winning captain Ciara O’Sullivan is joined by her attacking team mates Annie Walsh and Valerie Mulcahy in the All-Star shortlist.

Six members of the Cork team have now won ten TG4 Senior All-Ireland titles and all six are nominated for an All-Star – Geraldine O’Flynn, Deirdre O’Reilly, Bríd Stack, Briege Corkery, Rena Bucley and Valerie Mulcahy.

The LGFA TG4 All Star award winners will be announced at a gala ceremony at the Citywest Hotel on November 14th.

A limited number of tickets will be available to the public to purchase at €80 per person. For further information contact us at [email protected] or on 01-8363156



Martina O’Brien (Cork)

Ciara Trant (Dublin)

Linda Martin (Monaghan)



Marie Ambrose (Cork)

Vera Foley (Cork)

Geraldine O’Flynn (Cork)

Bríd Stack (Cork)

Deirdre O’Reilly (Cork)

Treasa Doherty (Donegal)

Ciara Hegarty (Donegal)

Olwen Carey (Dublin)

Sinead Goldrick (Dublin)

Sinead Finnegan (Dublin)

Sorcha Furlong (Dublin)

Muireann Ní Scanaill (Dublin)

Sinead Burke (Galway)

Áine Seoighe (Galway)

Aislinn Desmond (Kerry)

Caroline Kelly (Kerry)

Cáit Lynch (Kerry)

Linda Wall (Waterford)



Caroline O’Hanlon (Armagh)

Rena Buckley (Cork)

Briege Corkery (Cork)

Geraldine Conneally (Galway)

Bernie Breen (Kerry)

Fiona McHale (Mayo)



Aimee Mackin (Armagh)

Valerie Mulcahy (Cork)

Ciara O’Sullivan (Cork)

Annie Walsh (Cork)

Geraldine McLaughlin (Donegal)

Lyndsey Davey (Dublin)

Noelle Healy (Dublin)

Niamh McEvoy (Dublin)

Carla Rowe (Dublin)

Tracey Leonard (Galway)

Patricia Gleeson (Galway)

Louise Ní Muircheartaigh (Kerry)

Áine Tighe (Leitrim)

Cora Staunton (Mayo)

Cora Courtney (Monaghan)

Caitriona McConnell (Monaghan)

Maria Delahunty (Waterford)

Aileen Wall (Waterford)


Share this article

Related content