Carmel races to course record in Dunmanway 10k

June 21st, 2015 4:02 PM

By Southern Star Team

Impressive run: Local athlete Anna O'Neill, third in the Dunmanway 10km, pictured with Bill Allen, chairman of the Cork County Board of Athletics Ireland.

Share this article


A NEW course record by Carmel Crowley and a repeat victory for Sean McGrath were the highlights of the sixth annual Dunmanway 10km road race that took place in ideal conditions.

Crowley, a member of the Bandon club to which she has contributed immensely since her schooldays, knocked 15 seconds off of Angela McCann’s previous course best of two years ago when finishing seventh overall in a time of 37:46.

Currently in a rich vein of form which has seen her finish in the top three of most races, Crowley now hopes to compete in the F45 age-group at the World Masters’ track and field which take place in Lyon, France, during the first week of August.

Ann-Marie Holland from Youghal AC, fresh from two victories in the past couple of weeks, had to settle for second over a minute behind in a time of 38:49 with Anna O’Neill of the promoting Doheny club taking third spot in 42:01.

McGrath was on his own after a mile after moving away from Danny Smith who made the journey from Ballynonty in Tipperary for the race. Crossing the line in 33:19, East Cork athlete McGrath also had a comfortable winning margin over runner-up Smith who clocked 34:28.

Tony Kelleher (Togher) had a good run to finish third in 35:05 with David Craig of Bandon moving up from sixth last year to take fourth in 36:40 with two other West Cork athletes, Garrett Lordan (Clonakilty RR) and Fergus Wall (Bandon), completing the top half-dozen.


1. S McGrath (East Cork) 33:19; 2. D Smith (Ballynonty) 34:28; 3. T Kelleher (Togher, M45) 35:05; 4. D Craig (Bandon) 36:40; 5. G Lordan (Clonakilty RR) 36:49; 6. F Wall (Bandon, M45) 37:16; 7. C Crowley (Bandon, F45) 37:46; 8. P Jajac (Mallow) 38:13; 9. S Deveraux (Youghal, M50) 38:38; 10. F Sargent (St Finbarr’s) 38:38.

M40: 1. D Holland (unatt) 39:12; 2. P McCarthy (unatt) 39:23; 3. N Mackay (Eagle) 40:15.

M45: 3. P Griffin (Clonakilty RR) 39:29.

M50: 2. T Sheehan (Bandon) 40:35; 3. D McSweeney (Rosscarbery SR) 45:59.

M55: 1. C Moore (unatt) 52:30; 2. D Hurley (Bantry) 59:05.

M60: 1. R Piotrowski (Eagle) 40:53; 2. J Walshe (East Cork) 50:23; 3. K Constant (unatt) 50:26.

MJ: 1 C Crowley (unatt) 79:03.

Women: 1. C Crowley (Bandon, F45) 37:46; 2. A-M Holland (Youghal, F40) 38:49; 3. A O’Neill (Doheny, F45) 42;01; 4. C Murphy (unatt) 42:24; 5. N Cronin (St Finbarr’s, F35) 44:14; 6. M Hurley (Bantry, F50) 45:35.

F35: 2. S Holland (unatt) 46:12; 3. S McCarthy (Clonakilty RR) 46:40.

F40: 2. G Corcoran (Bandon) 46:23; 3. E Collins (Clonakilty RR) 48:57.

F45: 3. S Walsh (unatt) 45:51.

F50: 2. A McCarthy (Bandon)

51:42; 3. M Latimer (Clonakilty RR) 55:15.

F55: 1. C Holdroyd (unatt) 58:10.

F60: 1. E Mills (Bandon) 69:45.

FJ: 1. C O’Mahony (unatt) 52:09; 2. K Fitzpatrick (unatt) 71:28.

Share this article

Related content


to our mailing list for the latest news and sport:

Thank You!

You have successfully been subscribed to SouthernStar newsletter!

Form submitting... Thank you for waiting.