Carbery Rangers scoop county Scór title

February 13th, 2016 12:00 PM

By Southern Star Team

Victorious! The Carbery Rangers Leiriú group of Breda Hurley, Liam Hodnett, Margaret Hodnett, Mary Jo O'Gorman, James Lawlor, Brian O'Sullivan, Eileen McSweeney and Con O'Callaghan that won their category in the county senior Scór finals.

Share this article

Carbery Rangers dominated the GAA festival of music, song and dance at the Cork County Scór Sinsear Finals at Éire Óg GAA pavilion in Ovens last Sunday night.


CARBERY Rangers dominated the GAA festival of music, song and dance at the Cork County Scór Sinsear Finals at Éire Óg GAA pavilion in Ovens last Sunday night.

The Mid-Cork venue hosted the 47th decider, and in a diverse programme compered by county board cultural officer Jerry Walsh, the exciting fare offered an abundance of entertainment. 

Carbery Rangers kept the west flags floating with a splendid win in the léiríu section. Set to a backdrop of the 1916 Rising, their presentation ‘This April Day’ won approval. The Ross momentum continued as they added the ballad group category with their double-fare, ‘Níl na Lá’ and ‘Eyes of an Irishman’.  

As a result of their consistent endeavours across various disciplines, Rangers collected the best senior club award, the trophy accepted by Liam Hodnett. 

Boherbue ensured it was a rewarding outing for Duhallow, while individual triumphs for Kilworth and Iveleary raised the cheers of respective Avondhu and Muskerry supporters

Kilworth’s Joe Aherne emerged best at recitation with a powerful piece titled ‘Dóchas’. 

Elsewhere, Tracey Cronin (Iveleary) followed up on underage success to grab  the spoils at solo singing with a splendid rendition of ‘There Were Roses’. Not for the first time, Boherbue swept home impressive winners to the set dancing category with the Cavan Set. 

Youghal’s instrumental music group offered plenty of foot-tapping with a selection of jigs and reels.

Cork Scór chairman Tony McAulliffe and cultural officer Jerry Walsh presented the prizes to the winners and runners up. The winners go forward to represent Cork in the Munster semi-final in Kanturk on Saturday, February 20th.



Solo Singing: 1. Tracey Cronin (Iveleary), 2. Leah Aherne(Youghal).

Recitation: 1. Joe Aherne (Kilworth), 2. Michael Greaney (Cloyne).

Instrumental Music: 1. Youghal (Donal Ó Riain, Aoife de Buitléir, Blaithín Ní Theinhlain, Deirdre Ní Cheallaigh), 2. Freemount (Ellmarie O’Dwyer, Aoife O’Connor, Michael O’Regan).

Léiriú: 1. Carbery Rangers (Breda Hurley, Liam Hodnett, Margaret Hodnett, Mary Jo O’Gorman, James Lawlor, Brian O’Sullivan, Eileen McSweeney, Con O’Callaghan).

Ballad Group: 1. Carbery Rangers (Seán O’Regnn, Clare O’Regan, Sinead O’Regan, Danny  Collins, Ciara O’Gorman), 2. Freemount (John O’Dwyer, Kevin O’Dwyer, Ellemarie O’Dwyer, T Mullane, Edel Browne).

Set Dancing: 1. Boherbue (Amanda O’Sullivan, Evie Casey, Louise Fitzgerald, Amee McCarthy, Christopher O’Flynn, Daniel Murphy, Timothy Murphy, Michael Buckley).

Share this article


to our mailing list for the latest news and sport:

Thank You!

You have successfully been subscribed to SouthernStar newsletter!

Form submitting... Thank you for waiting.