Callum McElhinney follows in brother Darragh's footsteps

February 13th, 2019 4:00 PM

By Southern Star Team

Callum McElhinney of Colaiste Pobail, Bantry, coming home second in the junior boys race at the South Munster Schools' C-C.

Share this article

Two medals made their way to the McElhinney household as younger brother Callum took second in the junior race and also led his Coláiste Pobail team to silver in the South Munster Schools Cross Country.



ALTHOUGH Darragh McElhinney gave the South Munster Schools a miss in favour of the Abbotstown Indoor Arena, where he was an impressive winner of the 3000m in 8:16.83, two medals still made their way to the McElhinney household as younger brother Callum took second in the junior race and also led his Coláiste Pobail team to silver.

There was a one-two for Coláiste Pobail in the minor race with Sean Lawton and Fionn Harrington coming home well clear of Sam Kiely (Kinsale CS) with the school again finishing second. 

In Darragh McElhinney’s absence, the senior boys’ race provided an exciting contest. Frank O’Brien (Midleton CBS), third last year, was one of a group of four that broke away after the opening lap of the 5000m race. It was down to two at halfway with Tommy Connolly (CBC), winner of the intermediate race 12 months ago, forcing the pace. 

However, O’Brien’s strength proved decisive as he moved away over the last lap to cross the line with 10 seconds in hand over Connolly with Daire O’Sullivan (Coláiste an Chroí Naofa) finishing third. Hamilton High School, Bandon, packed well to take the team award.

Another Midleton athlete, Tamzin Muldowney of St Mary’s HS, led all the way to win the senior girls’ race from Ellen Moran (Mount Mercy) with Alyce O’Connor in third leading her Pobalscoil Inbhear Scéine (Kenmare) to an easy team title.

Paul Hartnett and Lucy O’Keeffe were also impressive winners of the intermediate races. Both had represented Ireland at the recent Belfast C-C International and O’Keeffe had also the bonus of leading her St Mary’s (Midleton) team to victory.      



Boys – Senior (5000m): 1 F O’Brien (Midleton CBS) 15:59, 2 T Connolly (CBC, Cork) 16:09, 3 D O’Sullivan (Coláiste an Chroí Naofa) 16:39; Team: 1 Hamilton HS, Bandon 39, 2 Coláiste Chríost Rí 52, 3 Midleton CBS 75. 

Intermediate (4500m): 1 P Hartnett (Coláiste an Chraoibhín) 12:29, 2 F Harrington (St Brogan’s College) 12:56, 3 A Kiely (CBC, Cork) 13:14; Team: 1 Coláiste Chríost Rí 75, 2 Midleton CBS 83, 3 St Brogan’s College, Bandon 85. 

Junior (3000m): 1 C Spillane (Presentation, Milltown) 10:12, 2 C McElhinney (Coláiste Pobail, Bantry) 10:14, 3 A O’Neill (St Brendan’s College, Killarney) 10:22; Team: 1 St Brendan’s College 33, 2 Coláiste Pobail, Bantry 38, 3 St Brogan’s, Bandon 133.

Minor (2000m): 1 S Lawton (Coláiste Pobail, Bantry) 6:37, 2 F Harrington (Coláiste Pobail, Bantry) 6:40, 3 S Kiely (Kinsale CS) 6:53; Team: 1 St Brendan’s 67, 2 Coláiste Pobail, Bantry 73 3 Midleton CBS 79. 

Girls – Senior (2500m): 1 T Muldowney (St Mary’s, Midleton) 8:58, 2 E Moran (Mount Mercy, Cork) 9:09, 3 A O’Connor (Pobalscoil Inbhear Scéine) 9:16; Team: 1 Pobalscoil Inbhear Scéine, Kenmare 12, 2 Regina Mundi, Cork 30, 3 Millstreet CS 44. 

Intermediate (3000m): 1 L O’Keeffe (St Mary’s, Midleton) 10:59, 2 S McCarthy (Killorglin CC) 11:15, 3 J Buckley (Coláiste na Toirbhirte) 11:21; Team: 1 St Mary’s, Midleton 45, 2 Pobalscoil Inbhear Scéine, Kenmare 48, 3 St Brigid’s, Killarney 52.

Junior (2000m): 1 A Millerick (St Mary’s, Midleton) 7:33, 2 S Tomkins (Boherbue CS) 7:38, 3 L Hallihan (Loreto, Fermoy) 7:46; Team: 1 Sacred Heart, Clonakilty 36, 2 Pobalscoil Inbhear Scéine 38, 3 St Mary’s, Macroom 50. 

Minor (1500m): 1 A Fitzgerald (Coláiste an Chroí Naofa) 5:11, 2 N Dinan (St Angela’s, Cork) 5:18, 3 L Dunne (Coláiste an Chroí Naofa) 5:19; Team: 1 St Angela’s, Cork 32, 2 Sacred Heart, Clonakilty 35, 3 Coláiste an Chroí Naofa 40.

Share this article

Related content


to our mailing list for the latest news and sport:

Thank You!

You have successfully been subscribed to SouthernStar newsletter!

Form submitting... Thank you for waiting.