Bantry and Dunmanway athletes top of the class

January 29th, 2018 1:00 PM

By Southern Star Team

The top four in the third year girls' race at the West Cork Secondary Schools' Cross-Country Championships were, from left, Lauren McCourt, Bandon Grammar (second); Aisling Barry, Bandon Grammar (first); Emily Good, Bandon Grammar (third), and Edel Hayes, Mount St Michael, Rosscarbery (fourth).

Share this article

COLÁISTE Pobail Bheanntraí and MICC Dunmanway shared the top prizes at the 14th annual West Cork Secondary Schools’ Cross-Country Championships, held in the Showgrounds, Dunmanway recently.

The event, which is normally held in September, was deferred to January to better line up with the South Munster, Munster and All-Ireland schools’ cross-country championships.  

While conditions were firm enough underfoot, the weather was exceptionally inclement, with freezing temperatures, sleety rain and blustery winds. This did not deter the competitive instinct of the participants ensuring some fine displays of running on the day and exceptional team spirit. 

The EBS Shields are presented each year to the best overall girls’ and boys’ teams from their school.  The girls from Coláiste Pobail Bheanntraí again retained the title of Best Overall Girls’ School, bringing the EBS Shield back to Bantry with them, and MICC Dunmanway took second place, as they did also last year. 

The position was reversed for the boys with MICC Dunmanway taking the EBS Shield back from last year’s winning team from Hamilton High School Bandon who were unable to make it on this occasion. Coláiste Pobail Bheanntraí was placed second with De La Salle Macroom in third place.



First year girls: 1 Maeve O’Neill, MICC, Dunmanway; 2. Eabha Crowley, Bandon Grammar School; 3. Margaret Collins, MICC, Dunmanway; 4. Eileen Burke, Coláiste Ghobnátan, Ballyvourney; 5. Sally O’Donovan, Coláiste Pobail Bheanntrai; 6. Aine Corish, MICC, Dunmanway. Team: 1. MICC, Dunmanway, 2. Coláiste Pobail Bheanntrai, 3. Coláiste Ghobnátan, Ballyvourney

First year boys: 1. Callum McCourt, Bandon Grammar School; 2. Dan Andrews, Coláiste Pobail Bheanntrai; 3 Ciarán O’Sullivan, Coláiste Pobail Bheanntrai; 4. Cillian O’Brien, Coláiste Pobail Bheanntrai; 5. Macdara Ó Conghnaile, Scoil Ghobnatán, Ballyvourney; 6. Alan Kelleher, Coláiste Pobail Bheanntrai. Team: 1 Coláiste Pobail Bheanntrai, 2. Bandon Grammar School, 3. Coláiste Ghobnatán, Ballyvourney.

Second year girls: 1. Jane Buckley, Coláiste na Toirbhirte, Bandon; 2. Nicola Tuthill, Coláiste na Toirbhirte, Bandon; 3. Alanna O’Donovan, Mount St Michael, Rosscarbery; 4. Rebecca Harrington, Coláiste Pobail Bheanntrai; 5. Aisling Stock, Coláiste Pobail Bheanntrai; 6. Aoife O’Neill, Mount St Michael, Rosscarbery. Team: 1. Coláiste Pobail Bheanntrai, 2. Bandon Grammar School.

Second year boys: 1. Rory Falvey, Bandon Grammar School; 2. Jeff Williams, Bandon Grammar School; 3. Tiernan Brown, Bandon Grammar School; 4. Angus Seigne, Bandon Grammar School; 5. Darragh McSweeney, St Brogan’s College, Bandon; 6. Daniel McGarvey, Bandon Grammar School. Team: 1. Bandon Grammar School, 2. Coláiste Pobail Bheanntrai; 3. MICC Dunmanway.

Third year girls: 1. Aisling Barry; 2. Lauren McCourt; 3. Emily Good, all Bandon Grammar School; 4. Edel Hayes, Mount St Michael, Rosscarbery. Team: 1. Bandon Grammar School.

Third year boys: 1. Ramon Gaspar, De La Salle Macroom; 2. Laurence Asling, De La Salle Macroom; 3. Tadhg Manning, De La Salle Macroom; 4. Aidan Rundel, Coláiste Pobail Bheanntrai; 5. Ian O’Flynn, Coláiste Pobail Bheanntrai; 6 Andrew McCarthy, MICC Dunmanway.

Team: 1. De La Salle Macroom, 2. MICC Dunmanway, 3. Coláiste Pobail Bantry

Fourth and fifth year girls: 1. Caitlin Hurley, MICC Dunmanway; 2. Sophie Harrington, Coláiste Pobail Bheanntrai; 3. Kate Barry, Coláiste Pobail Bheanntrai; 4. Katie Dineen, Coláiste Pobail Bheanntrai; 5. Eve O’Sullivan, Coláiste Pobail Bheanntrai; 6. Paula Tabanera, Colaiste Pobail Bheanntrai

Team: 1. Coláiste Pobail Bheanntrai, 2. MICC Dunmanway.

Fourth and fifth boys: 1. Liam Cotter, Coláiste Pobail Bheanntrai; 2. Ryan Cotter, MICC Dunmanway; 3. Andrew Collins, Mount St Michael, Rosscarbery; 4. Ray Shanahan, Mount St Michael, Rosscarbery; 5. Conor O’Neill, MICC, Dunmanway; 6. Darragh Collins, MICC Dunmanway.

Team: 1. MICC Dunmanway, 2. De La Salle Macroom.

Sixth year boys: 1. Daniel O’Connell, St Brogan’s Bandon.

Best Overall Girls’ School: 1. Coláiste Pobail Bheanntrai, 2. Bandon Grammar School, 3. MICC Dunmanway.

Best Overall Boys’ School: 1. MICC Dunmanway, 2. Coláiste Pobail Bheanntrai, 3. De La Salle Macroom. 

Share this article

Related content


to our mailing list for the latest news and sport:

Thank You!

You have successfully been subscribed to SouthernStar newsletter!

Form submitting... Thank you for waiting.