Ardfield star Peadar O'Rourke is in a class of his own

August 19th, 2018 6:00 PM

By Ger McCarthy

Southern Star West Cork Schoolboys League Player of the Year Peadar O'Rourke of Ardfield was presented with his trophy by current Irish ladies international Roma McLaughlin and former Republic of Ireland internationals Ray Houghton and Richard Dunne at the 2018 Southern Star Player of the Year award

Share this article

O'Rourke crowned WCSL Player of the Year

AN FAI delegation presented Ardfield’s Peadar O’Rourke with the 2018 Southern Star West Cork Schoolboys League Player of the Year trophy at the league’s annual award ceremony held at the Celtic Ross Hotel in Rosscarbery.

On a star-studded evening, FAI President Tony Fitzgerald, CEO John Delaney, former Republic of Ireland internationals Ray Houghton and Richard Dunne plus current ladies’ international Roma McLaughlin helped present over 20 trophies to the cream of WCSL talent from the previous 2018 season.

An appreciative attendance heard speeches from Neil Grant (Celtic Ross Hotel), Hugh O’Reilly (WCSL Secretary), Andrew Healy (SuperValu, WCSL sponsors) and Sean Mahon (Southern Star MD) before the FAI’s John DelanEy addressed the crowd and paid tribute to the players, parents, committee, clubs and sponsors who keep football going in West Cork.

Visiting the region as part of the FAI’s Festival of Football campaign and annual AGM being held in Cork, Houghton, Dunne and McLaughlin presented trophies, posed for numerous photographs and spent time with each the young award winners immediately after the ceremony.

Highlights of the evening included Peadar O’Rourke being crowned overall WCSL Player of the Year for 2018. The dynamic Ardfield player has blossomed into a quality midfielder over the last number of years and possesses all the necessary attributes needed to progress his career. 

Castlelack received the Paddy McCarthy Perpetual Shield as the 2018 Club of the Year. Former WCSL Chairman and Clonakilty AFC stalwart McCarthy was on hand to pay tribute to the tremendous work being carried out by a loyal group of Castlelack volunteers. The West Cork club are hoping to finalise plans of a move to a permanent home in the coming weeks.

Drinagh Rangers’ Tom McQueen and Lyre Rovers’ Conor O’Sullivan were awarded the U13 Premier League and Division 1 Player of the Year accolades. McQueen and O’Sullivan were not present on the night due to the fact both individuals were playing pivotal roles in helping the West Cork Schoolboys U13 Inter-League to a seventh overall finish at the Galway Cup.


The 2018 Southern Star Player of the Year winners are as follows:

Southern Star WCSL Overall Player of the Year: Peadar O’Rourke (Ardfield).

Southern Star WCSL Club of the Year: Castlelack.

SuperValu U12 Premier League: Prince Iyalla (Clonakilty AFC).

SuperValu U12 Division 1A: Keith McCarthy (Dunmanway Town Cadets),

SuperValu U12 Division 1B: Ciarán Foley (Kilmichael Rovers).

SuperValu U13 Premier League: Tom McQueen (Drinagh Rangers)

SuperValu U13 Division 1: Conor O’Sullivan (Lyre Rovers), SuperValu U14 Premier League: Eoghan O’Sullivan (Bantry Bay Rovers).

SuperValu U14 Division 1: Conor O’Sullivan (Riverside Athletic)

SuperValu U15 Premier League: Peadar O’Rourke (Ardfield)

SuperValu U15 Division 1: Conor Lucey (Sullane), SuperValu U16 Premier League: James Lynam (Lyre Rovers)

SuperValu U16 Division 1: Robbie Lucey (Togher Celtic) 

SuperValu U17 Premier League: Alan Crowley (Dunmanway Town).

SuperValu WCSL Cup Finals Man of the Match winners: Cillian Twohig (Lyre Rovers U12), Sarah McSweeney (Bunratty United U13), Rory Phayer (Lyre Rovers U14), Peadar O’Rourke (Ardfield U15), James Lynam (Lyre Rovers U16) and Alan Crowley (Dunmanway Town U17).

Share this article

Related content


to our mailing list for the latest news and sport:

Thank You!

You have successfully been subscribed to SouthernStar newsletter!

Form submitting... Thank you for waiting.