Priest hopes we'll all stay on the right side of the sod!

February 16th, 2019 11:30 PM

By Southern Star Team

Pictured at the annual ploughing match at Timoleague on Sunday were – from left – local committee members John Sexton, Michael Crowley, Kieran Keohane, John Walsh, chairman, and Margaret Keohane, PRO, with Denis Keohane, chairman, National Ploughing Association.

Share this article

Fr Paddy Hickey, PP, expressed the hope that we would all be on the right side of the sod come this time next year.



HAVING commended the organisers and competitors in the successful Timoleague ploughing match last Sunday, Fr Paddy Hickey, PP, expressed the hope that we would all be on the right side of the sod come this time next year.

Kieran Keohane, who is also chairman of the Cork West County Ploughing Association, paid a glowing tribute to Colin Bateman who had provided them with such an excellent site for the event. 

He had a special word of praise for the stewards and helpers who had worked so tirelessly during the days before to have everything in order.  

Appreciation was expressed for the judges who had come from Youghal, Knockanore and West Waterford. The soil at Barryshall turned up well and, in the opinion of the judges, was quite capable of carrying a crop of spring wheat. 

When we spoke to some of the organising committee, they expressed disappointment that the sway of competitors is tending towards vintage, more than to the youths for which special classes are provided in ploughing matches for the development of tillage farming. 

With six ploughing matches held since the season started on January 6th at Macroom, there are  just two remaining: Clogagh this Sunday, February 17th, and the county final at Bandon on Sunday, February 24th.



Senior: 1 Jim Grace, 2 Kieran Coakley, 3 John Murphy.

Under 28: 1 Aidan O’Donovan, 2 Ger Kirby.

Under 21: 1 James O’Sullivan, 2 Ian O’Farrell, 3 Andrew O’Donovan.

Intermediate: 1 John A O’Donovan, 2 Stanley Deane, 3 Denis Murphy.

Three-Furrow: 1Matthew Coakley,  2 John Keohane.

Senior Reversible: 1 Ger Coakley, 2 Liam O’Driscoll.

Standard Reversible: 1 Padraig Walsh, 2 Tim Lawlor, 3 Dan Hurley.

Under 28 Reversible: winner Conor O’Farrell.

Open Hydraulic: 1 Michael Ryan, 2 John O’Neill, 3 Michael Coomey.

Confined Hydraulic: 1 Paschal Coughlan, 2 Ite Wiserma, 3 Sean McCarthy.

Single Furrow: 1 Gordon Jennings, 2 Damien Aherne. 

Farmerette: 1 Ellen Nyhan, 2 Rachel O’Driscoll. 

Macra Class: 1 David Walsh, 2Niall O’Driscoll, 3 Cian Harrington.

Trailer Vintage: winner John Wolfe.

Horse Class: winner John O’Donovan. 


Get engaged recently? Planning a wedding? The folks at Fernhill House Hotel and Gardens have everything you need for the perfect day. Read more

Share this article

Related content


to our mailing list for the latest news and sport:

Thank You!

You have successfully been subscribed to SouthernStar newsletter!

Form submitting... Thank you for waiting.