Past pupils special guests at awards ceremony

June 2nd, 2019 6:25 PM

By Southern Star Team

Aidan White (third from left) being presented with the overall Maria Immaculata Community College Student of the Year 2019 award by past pupil Dr Joe Warne. Also included are Niall Murphy, college principal, and Hannah Ross, Student of the Year 2018.

Share this article

Maria Immaculata Community College hosted its annual awards ceremony on Monday week last.  

MARIA Immaculata Community College hosted its annual awards ceremony on Monday week last.  

This year’s guests of honour were past pupils, Dr Joe Warne, lecturer in Sports Science at the Technological University Dublin, and Hannah Ross, MICC Student of the Year 2018. The entire student and staff body attended the ceremony, which highlighted the sporting, academic, artistic and entrepreneurial flair of the college’s students.  

Dr Warne congratulated the students on their achievements and reminisced on his time in MICC. He said that with determination, dedication and commitment they can achieve anything in life saying ‘take life by the scruff of the neck and run with it.’ He also stressed the importance of physical activity and the need to look after our planet.  

One student in each year group was recognised as Student of the Year. These were Shanice Kingston, Brianna McCarthy, Ciara Forbes, Leona McCarthy, Nathan Kingston, Daniel McCarthy, Jacinta Murphy and Emily Cotter. Endeavour awards went to Killian Webster, Rachel Connolly, Katelynn Crowley, Claudia Murphy-O’Donovan, Chloe Lucey, Tanya Murnane, Jana Vilicina and Stephen Cadogan. 

A student in each year also received the School Spirit awards. These were Rachel McCarthy, Clodagh Higgins, Nicole O’Donoghue, Anne O’Driscoll, Aoife Murphy and Katie Maher.  Other awards presented were Social Leadership Award to Margaret Collins, Community Award to the Zambia volunteers, Enterprise and Initiative Award to the Boots Off Mini-Company, Gaeilge Award to Sarah Coveney, 

Special Awards:  BT Young Scientist students, Cáirde mentors, School Bank and Trend Micro Internet Safety students. Sport Awards : First Year Ladies’ Foootball, U17 Boys, Munster Winners; Female Sports Awards: Maeve O’Neill, Mairead Crowley; Male Sports Awards: Daniel O’Donovan, Aaron O’Driscoll; Special Sports Achievement Award: Ryan Cotter. 

Music Awards: Barry O’Sullivan, Anna Deane; Arts Award: Aoife Forbes, Niamh Ahern, Aidan White; Service to Fellow Students: Peter Cahalane and Ciara Walsh. The overall Student of the Year award was presented to Aidan White, a very popular winner among both students and staff.  The entire school community of MICC are very proud of all the students in the college and their diverse range of abilities and talents.

Meanwhile, MICC last week raised a rainbow flag to celebrate Cork LGBT Awareness week and to show that MICC is an inclusive place to both work and study. The Student Council was present for this event with school principal, Mr Murphy, explaining the significance of the event, saying ‘It is important to be inclusive, supportive and welcoming to all’ and he asked that everyone take a moment to reflect on how they can support others.  

Cork LGBT Awareness Week was organised as an inter-agency initiative, including Cork ETB.  

Share this article

Related content


to our mailing list for the latest news and sport:

Thank You!

You have successfully been subscribed to SouthernStar newsletter!

Form submitting... Thank you for waiting.