Wins for Castlehaven, Muskerry, St Finbarr's, Bishopstown and Douglas in Cork SFC round one

May 7th, 2016 8:33 PM

By Kieran McCarthy

On target: Mark Collins scored three second-half points in Castlehaven's win v Clonakilty.

Share this article

The draws for Rounds 2A and 2B are taking shape following Saturday night's action

A LATE Darragh Cahalane point was enough to see Castlehaven squeeze past Clonakilty, 0-14 to 0-13, in their Cork SFC round one game at Rosscarbery.

Clon, under new manager Paul Holland this season, had led 0-8 to 0-5 at half-time, and in a nip-and-tuck second half, points from Mark Collins (3), Michael Hurley, Seanie Cahalane, Shane Nolan (2) and Conor Cahalane helped James McCarthy’s side into Round 2A where CIT await.

Meanwhile, Beara were well beaten by St Finbarr’s in Bantry, 1-17 to 1-7, and next up for Beara in Round 2B are Ballincollig following their defeat on Saturday night. Conor Lowney scored Beara's goal.

Bishopstown showed that goals do win games after they beat 2014 champions Ballincollig 3-8 to 0-13, having scored three first-half goals. Denis Crowley scored two goals and Daniel O'Donovan helped himself to the other.

Muskerry got their campaign off to a convincing 2-13 to 0-8 win against Aghada at Caherlag. Muskerry had led 2-7 to 0-2 at the break, thanks to goals from Daniel Goulding and Kevin Hallissey.

Dohenys’ poor start to the season continued when they went down 0-14 to 1-6 against Douglas. Barry O’Donovan scored a goal eight minutes from time for the Dunmanway side, but by then they trailed 0-12 to 0-4.

Only one first round game is left to be played – Valleys v Avondhu on Sunday – and the Round 2A and 2B draws are almost complete.


Round 2A (Winners from Round 1)

Carbery v St Finbarr’s

Carrigaline v Valley Rovers/Avondhu

UCC v Bishopstown

Douglas v Carbery Rangers

CIT v Castlehaven

Muskerry v Nemo Rangers


Round 2B (Losers from Preliminary Round and Round 1)

Ilen Rovers v Dohenys

Clonakilty v St Nicholas

Ballincollig v Beara

Duhallow v Seandun

Valley Rovers/Avondhu v O'Donovan Rossa

Aghada v Newcestown

Clyda Rovers – a bye

Share this article