Southern Star Ltd. logo

Top schoolboys' stars to be honoured

July 24th, 2018 1:00 PM

By Southern Star Team

Top schoolboys' stars to be honoured Image
Bantry Bay Rovers' Dan Andrews was named the overall WCSL Player of the Year at the 2016/17 awards at the Celtic Ross Hotel in Rosscarbery last July, as well as picking up the U12 Premier League award. Dan was represented at the awards by his sister Laura. Who will be named the new WCSL Player of t

Share this article

Awards to link up with FAI Festival of Football

THE fifth annual Southern Star West Cork Schoolboys League Player of the Year awards will be held in conjunction with the FAI Festival of Football at the Celtic Ross Hotel in Rosscarbery next month.

On Friday, August 10th, the West Cork Schoolboys League’s Player of the Year awards will honour the standout individual club players from twelve divisions across five (U12, 13, 14, 15,16 and 17) age-grades. On top of that, the 2018 WCSL Club of the Year and overall Player of the Year will also be announced in what should be another memorable occasion.

All six of 2018’s SuperValu West Cork Schoolboys League Man of the Match Cup final winners will also be presented with their trophies at the Celtic Ross Hotel on the same evening. 

The FAI are holding their 2018 AGM in Cork and running a week-long Festival of Football throughout the county in early August. Basing themselves in the Celtic Ross during their West Cork stay, it promises to be a hugely important week for West Cork soccer.

‘I’m delighted that the FAI will be bringing the Festival of Football and AGM to Cork this year,’ commented FAI CEO John Delaney at the festival’s announcement back in April.

‘Grassroots football is the foundation that we build everything else on and Cork is one of the most impressive counties when it comes to development, administration and volunteer work at grassroots level. 

‘Since 2007 we have been able to visit different counties as part of the Festival of Football road show and it is a great way to connect with those making a difference in the development of our game. We look forward to visiting Cork in August for the Festival of Football and also our AGM.’

Looking ahead to this year’s event, The Southern Star has contacted every individual WCSL team coach and a final list of nominations has been compiled. One person from each of the WCSL leagues (listed below) will be chosen as that division’s Player of the Year and invited with their family to the awards ceremony at the Celtic Ross Hotel on August 10.

Last year, Bantry Bay Rovers’ Dan Andrews had the distinction of becoming the first-ever West Cork Schoolboys League (overall) Player of the Year. Andrews enjoyed a marvellous campaign in which the young defender played a pivotal role in his team’s U12 Premier League success and reaching the last 32 in the national stages of the SFAI U12 National Cup. 

Other award winners included Togher Celtic’s Keith McCarthy (U12 Division 1A), Skibbereen’s Cian O’Brien (U12 Division 1B), Skibbereen’s Jack Kevane (U14 Premier League), Sullane’s Martin O’Sullivan (U14 Division 1) and Dunmanway Town’s Alan Crowley (U16 Premier League).

The Paddy McCarthy Perpetual Shield was presented to Bantry Bay Rovers as the 2017 Club of the Year. It proved an historic occasion for the Kealkil side, becoming the only WCSL club to pick up the trophy two years in a row.

The 2018 Southern Star Player of the Year Nominees (one player will be selected from each league and invited to the awards ceremony on August 10th).

SuperValu U12 Premier League nominees: Charlie McShane (Ardfield), Kian Kelleher (Bantry Bay Rovers Cadets), Prince Iyallah (Clonakilty AFC), Timothy Cullinane (Lyre Rovers), Jack Swanton (Riverside Athletic), Emmet McCarthy (Skibbereen).

SuperValu U12 Division 1A nominees: Callum Downing (Bantry Bay Rovers Youths), Laugh Massey (Bunratty United), Billy Curtin (Castlelack), Eoin Hurley (Drinagh Rangers), Keith McCarthy (Dunmanway Town Cadets).

SuperValu U12 Division 1B nominees: Conor Bignell (Bantry Bay Rovers Cornets), Oisin Lynch (Beara United), Ciarán Foley (Kilmichael Rovers), Adam O’Donovan (Skibbereen Celtic), Jack Lynch (Sullane), Brian Horgan (Togher Celtic).

SuperValu U13 Premier League nominees: Darragh Gough (Ardfield Rangers), Ben O’Sullivan (Bantry Bay Rovers), Tom McQueen (Drinagh Rangers), Sean Murphy (Dunmanway Town).

SuperValu U13 Division 1 nominees: Rohan Coakley (Ardfield Rovers), David Coughlan (Bunratty United), Diarmuid O’Halloran (Castlelack), Conor O’Sullivan (Lyre Rovers).

SuperValu U14 Premier League nominees: John O’Donovan (Ardfield), Eoghan O’Sullivan (Bantry Bay Rovers), Finian Hogan (Bunratty United), Ciarán O’Regan (Drinagh Rangers), Dan Twomey (Lyre Rovers), Jamie O’Driscoll (Skibbereen).

SuperValu U14 Division 1 nominees: Darragh Callanan (Castlelack), Aaron Mannix (Dunmanway Town), Conor O’Sullivan (Riverside Athletic), Danny O’Donovan (Togher Celtic).

SuperValu U15 Premier League nominees: Peadar O’Rourke (Ardfield), Ciarán McCarthy (Bunratty United), Robert McCarthy (Castlelack), Sean Daly (Drinagh Rangers), Finn Moroney (Lyre Rovers), Cormac McCarthy (Skibb).

SuperValu U15 Division 1 nominees: Alex Young (Bantry Bay Rovers), Tuan Gleeson (Beara United), Liam O’Leary (Dunmanway Town), Conor Lucey (Sullane).

SuperValu U16 Premier League nominees: Evan Browne (Ardfield), Darragh O’Shea (Bunratty United), Cillian Fitzpatrick (Drinagh Rangers), James Lynam (Lyre Rovers).

SuperValu U16 Division 1 nominees: Musa Juta (Castlelack), Sean O’Riordan (Kilmichael Rovers), Jamie Hourihan (Skibbereen), Eoin Kelleher (Sullane), Robbie Lucey (Togher Celtic).

SuperValu U17 Premier League nominees: Kieran O’Regan (Ardfield), Barry O’Shea (Bantry Bay Rovers), David O’Reilly (Bunratty United), Alan Crowley (Dunmanway Town), Arron O’Driscoll (Riverside Athletic).

2018 SuperValu WCSL Cup Finals Man of the Match winners: Cillian Twohig (Lyre Rovers U12), Sarah McSweeney (Bunratty United U13), Rory Phayer (Lyre Rovers U14), Peadar O’Rourke (Ardfield U15), James Lynam (Lyre Rovers U16) and Alan Crowley (Dunmanway Town U17).

Share this article