TEAM NEWS: Hannah Looney to start for Cork in Munster final

June 14th, 2019 12:12 PM

By Southern Star Team

Cork's Orla Finn is The Croke Park/LGFA Player of the Month for May.

Share this article

One change for Rebels ahead of Sunday's decider in Dungarvan


CORK manager Ephie Fitzgerald has drafted dual star Hannah Looney into his starting line-up for Sunday’s TG4 Munster Ladies Senior Football Championship Final against Waterford at Fraher Field, Dungarvan (6.30pm).

Looney’s return, in place of Clare O’Shea, is the only change in personnel from the recent victory over Kerry, as Cork aim to retain their provincial crown.

Cork have already beaten Waterford in this year’s Munster Championship, by 24 points in the round-robin phase, but the Déise will hope to close the gap on the Lidl NFL Division 1 champions.

That previous game against Cork was Waterford’s last competitive outing and there are three changes to Ciaran Curran’s starting team.  
Kate McGrath, Mairead Wall and Kelly Ann Hogan come into the team in place of Aisling Mullaney, Rebecca Casey and Clare Murphy.

Sunday’s fixture will be streamed LIVE on the LGFA’s Facebook Page, with Jerome Quinn on commentary alongside Kerry captain Amanda Brosnan.
Viewers can tune into the action by accessing the link and coverage gets underway at 6.15pm.

Cork (v Waterford): M O’Brien; H Looney, E Meaney, M Duggan; S Kelly, A Hutchings, E Kiely; M O’Callaghan, O Farmer; D Kiely, N Cotter, C O’Sullivan; E Scally, S Noonan, O Finn.

Waterford (v Cork): R Landers; Kate McGrath, C McGrath, M Wall; R Tobin, Karen McGrath, S Dunphy; E Murray, K Murray; K.A. Hogan, C Fennell, M Delahunty; E Fennell, M Ryan, A Wall.

Share this article

Related content


to our mailing list for the latest news and sport:

Thank You!

You have successfully been subscribed to SouthernStar newsletter!

Form submitting... Thank you for waiting.