Cookies on The Southern Star website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We also use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the The Southern Star website. However, if you would like to, you can change your cookie settings at any time by amending your browser settings.
How does The Southern Star use cookies?
Cookies enable us to identify your device, or you when you have logged in. We use cookies that are strictly necessary to enable you to move around the site or to provide certain basic features. We use cookies to enhance the functionality of the website by storing your preferences, for example. We also use cookies to help us to improve the performance of our website to provide you with a better user experience.
We dont sell the information collected by cookies, nor do we disclose the information to third parties, except where required by law (for example to government bodies and law enforcement agencies).
Hide Message
  • Sport

Cork legend Corkery leads Munster team to glory

Tuesday, 4th December, 2018 9:00am
Cork legend Corkery leads Munster team to glory

Briege Corkery captained Munster to Interprovincial honours.



BRIEGE Corkery showed that class really is permanent after she captained Munster to Interprovincial honours under lights in Waterford IT Sports Arena, stopping Ulster’s bid for seven-in-a-row.

Ten-time TG4 All Star Corkery (31) was playing her first competitive football at elite level since the 2016 TG4 All-Ireland senior final victory for Cork over Dublin.

The 11-time Brendan Martin Cup winner accepted Pat Sullivan’s invitation to link up with the Munster squad – and skippered the province to glory. 

This was Corkery’s first taste of Interprovincial football since 2013 – and she made it a comeback to remember.

The warning signs were there from the outset as Munster and Ulster battled it out in the opening round of the prestigious competition, with Tipperary’s Aishling Moloney instrumental in ensuring their first meeting finished all square, 0-13 to 2-7. 

Munster then went on to record a 4-11 to 0-7 win over Connacht before also defeating Leinster by 3-13 to 2-3 to ensure their spot in the cup final. Ulster had also defeated Connacht and Leinster setting up a second meeting with their Round One opponents.

There was a strong Cork representation on the Munster team as, along with Corkery, Clonakilty’s Martina O’Brien, Beara duo Áine Terry O’Sullivan and Niamh Cotter, Dohenys’ Melissa Duggan, St Colum’s Libby Coppinger, Hannah Looney, Shauna Kelly, Orlagh Farmer, and Aisling Hutchings were all named on the panel.

The final, under lights, was played at electric speed, with Munster leading by 1-8 to 0-2 at the break. Kingdom duo Sarah Houlihan and Hannah O’Donoghue hit the net for Munster’s goals in the second half and there was no way back for the reigning champions as the new won 3-13 to 2-5.