Newcestown U21 hurlers to compete in new county championship this season

February 18th, 2016 6:06 PM

By Kieran McCarthy

Newcestown defeated Bal in the 2014 West Cork U21 A hurling final.

Share this article

Reigning West Cork champions won't compete in local divisional championship this year

REIGNING West Cork U21 A hurling champions Newcestown won’t be defending their title this season as they have been included in the new U21 County Premier Hurling Championship that has been announced by the county board.

Newcestown defeated Bandon (3-20 to 1-9) in last year’s West Cork U21 A final, while they beat Bal in the 2014 final and Bandon in the 2013 decider, so they were going for the four-in-a-row this season. But they will not compete in this year's Carbery championship; instead they will turn their attention to the new county competition that will begin this season.

It will have a losers’ round, and the full format of the draw and fixtures will be issued in due course.

The following are the teams that have been included in the new U21 County Premier Hurling Championship for 2016

Avondhu: Mallow, Shandrum, Charleville.

Carrigdhoun: Ballinhassig, Carrigaline, Courcey Rovers, Valley Rovers, Ballymartle.

Carbery: Newcestown

Duhallow: Divisional team

Imokilly: Killeagh Itas, Midleton, Sarsfields, Fr O’Neills

Muskerry: Blarney, Inniscarra.

Seandun: Glen Rovers, St Finbarr’s, Blackrock, Douglas, Na Piarsaigh, Bishopstown.

Meanwhile, a new County Premier Junior Hurling Championship will be introduced next year, for the 2017 season.

A County Premier Junior Hurling League will be run in conjunction with this new championship. The same teams will participate in both competitions.  

The format of the County Premier Junior Hurling Championship is yet to finalised. Suggestions on the format are welcome and should be sent to [email protected]. Clubs and divisions are asked to submit their suggestions by March 31st next. 

Share this article