Jack is Eire Óg's ace in Mid Cork final victory

April 8th, 2019 9:00 AM

By Southern Star Team

The Eire Óg team that won the Mid Cork U21A football final against Ballincollig.

Share this article

Eire Óg 3-12

Ballincollig 1-14

Aubert Twomey Reports

EIRE Óg were crowned Muskerry U21A football champions last Sunday week.

Jack Murphy was the star of the show for the winners in this divisional decider at Coachford with Eire Óg’s clinical edge another major factor in this win.

Eire Óg were first to score when Jason Twomey sent the ball between the uprights in the first minute but a period followed with scores at premium. 

Dylan Foley then kicked Eire Óg’s second point but Ballincollig produced a period of dominance. Darren Murphy was on target from a free and Eoin O’Reilly pointed from play. The men in green had the initiative. 

At this stage of the action it was noticeable that Eire Óg’s most outstanding footballer Jack Murphy was not making an impact but that situation changed following his change from centre half forward to midfield. His performance subsequently went from strength to strength and his display ensured his side had the edge territorially. 

Ballincollig still managed to put additional scores on the board as Darren Murphy twice and substitute Darragh Dorgan – who proved to be a significant substitute when he replaced the injured Jordan O’Connor – raised white flags. 

Jack Murphy steadied the ship for Eire Óg however when he kicked a point in the 24th minute and Eire Óg were in high spirits a minute later. A Ballincollig attempt at a short kick-out came unstuck and the end result was a goal for the winners scored by Ryan O’Flynn. 

Ballincollig reduced the arrears to the minimum when Darragh Dorgan sent the football between the uprights from a free but the score was promptly nullified when Anthony O’Doherty was on target for Eire Óg. 

The latter were in a good position leading by two points as the conclusion was approaching of the first half but they were rocked by a last minute Ballincollig goal. 

Darragh Dorgan was in the right place to punch the football to the net. The score was 1-6 to 1-5 in Ballincollig’s favour at the break so the contest was in the balance. 

Despite the setback of conceding a goal seconds before the break Eire Óg resumed strongly. Anthony O’Doherty, Brian Hurley and Diarmuid Dineen all raised white flags. Ballincollig fought back with a Darren Murphy point from a free giving them a lift and they were again on level terms when their best player Kevin Crowley moved up field to secure an inspirational score. James O’Leary regained the lead for them two minutes later but that was as good as it got for Ballincollig. 

Eire Óg subsequently attacked strongly as they drew inspiration from Jack Murphy’s powerful play in the midfield area and their second goal, this time secured by Dylan Foley, set them on the road to victory. 

A Brian Hurley point in the 42nd minute gave the winners a goal advantage. Jack Murphy from play and Anthony O’Doherty from a free gave Eire Óg a significant cushion as the minutes ticked away and Ballincollig now needed a goal to turn their situation around. 

To their credit, they reduced the arrears to two points but Jack Murphy was again involved in ensuring Eire Óg’s position stayed in the comfort zone. His good approach work created a goal-scoring opportunity for Anthony O’Doherty who duly obliged and Murphy himself added on a point to their tally. 

Ballincollig tried hard in the closing stages but the winner’s defence did not concede ground so they had a four-point lead when the final whistle sounded. 

The victory is a significant boost to Eire Óg’s Gaelic football stock while Ballincollig will naturally be disappointed. Both finalists will participate in the county championship however so they will have an opportunity to make amends.  



Eire Óg: A O’Doherty 1-3 (1f), R O’Flynn, D Foley 1-1 each, J Murphy 0-3, B Hurley 0-2, J Twomey, D Dineen 0-1 each.

Ballincollig: D Murphy 0-6 (3f), D Dorgan 1-2 (1f), E O’Reilly 0-2 (1f), J O’Leary, K Crowley, D McCullagh, L Fahy 0-1 each.


Eire Óg: Eoin Kelleher; Killian Sheehan, Diarmuid Dineen, Sean O’Flynn; Hugh Murphy, John Cooper, Dave Twomey; Anthony O’Doherty, Jason Twomey; Ryan O’Flynn, Jack Murphy, Conor McGoldrick; Joe Cooper, Dylan Foley, Brian Hurley.

Subs: Pat Twomey for Jason Twomey (35), Cathal Mullins for Dylan Foley (60).

Ballincollig: Shane Horgan; Fintan Denny, Gearoid O’Donoghue, Sean Walsh; Robbie Bourke, Kevin Crowley, Karl Walsh; Luke Fahy, Jordan Murray; David McCullagh, Evan Cooke, James O’Leary; Eoin O’Reilly, Darren Murphy, Jordan O’Connor.

Subs: Darragh Dorgan for Jordan O’Connor (15, injured), Fionán O’Donovan for James O’Leary (50).

Referee: Dave Murnane (Macroom). 


The clocks have gone forward and the longer evenings have finally arrived which can only mean one thing – the lawn mowers are out. A wealth of knowledge is on hand at Bandon Co-Op’s three stores in Bandon, Enniskeane and Kinsale thanks to each of their in-store experts who are there to share their vast experience

Share this article

Related content


to our mailing list for the latest news and sport:

Thank You!

You have successfully been subscribed to SouthernStar newsletter!

Form submitting... Thank you for waiting.