Southern Star Ltd. logo

Former Castlehaven footballer to start for Ireland U20s in Six Nations opener

January 31st, 2018 12:08 PM

By Kieran McCarthy

Former Castlehaven footballer to start for Ireland U20s in Six Nations opener Image
David McCarthy will start for Ireland U20s against France U20s on Friday night.

Share this article

David McCarthy has selected to start against France this Friday night

UNION Hall’s David McCarthy has been named on the Ireland U20 team for their opening game of the U20 Six Nations, against France this Friday in Bordeaux at 9pm local time.

McCarthy, a former Castlehaven underage footballer, came up through the ranks with Skibbereen RFC.

There is more West Cork interest, too, with former Bandon Grammar School student James French named on the bench.

Head coach Noel McNamara said: ‘We’ve had a good build up over the past few months, and it’s an exciting time for the players as well as the coaching team.

‘France is never an easy place to go to play, and we’re expecting a large and noisy crowd at the game, but it’s a good challenge for the players everyone involved is looking forward to getting the campaign underway on Friday night.’

The match will be broadcast live by RTÉ, with kick-off at 8pm (Irish time).

In Thursday's Southern Star we chat to David McCarthy about all things rugby. Don't miss it!

Ireland U20 team v France U20.

15. Michael Silvester (Dublin University/Leinster)

14. Peter Sullivan (Lansdowne FC/Leinster)

13. David McCarthy (Garryowen/Munster)

12. Tommy O’Brien (UCD RFC/Leinster)

11. James McCarthy (UL Bohemian/Munster)

10. Harry Byrne (UCD RFC/Leinster)

9. Jonny Stewart (Queen’s University RFC/Ulster)

1. Jordan Duggan (Naas/Leinster)

2. Ronan Kelleher (UCD/ Leinster)

3. Jack Aungier (St. Mary’s College RFC/Leinster)

4. Cormac Daly (Clontarf FC/Leinster)

5. Jack Dunne (Dublin University FC/Leinster)

6. Matthew Dalton (Malone RFC/Ulster)

7. Aaron Hall (Ballynahinch RFC/Ulster)

8. Jack O’Sullivan (UCC RFC/Munster)

Replacements: 16. Diarmuid Barron (Garryowen FC/Munster), 17. James French (UCC RFC/Munster), 18.Tom O’Toole (Banbridge RFC/Ulster), 19. Ronan Coffey (Shannon RFC/Munster), 20. Sean Masterson (Corinthians RFC/Connacht), 21. Hugh O’Sullivan (Clontarf FC/Leinster), 22. Angus Curtis (Queen’s University RFC/Ulster), 23. Angus Kernohan (Ballymena RFC/Ulster).

Share this article