Drinagh Rangers knocked out of Munster Junior Cup

January 18th, 2015 4:36 PM

By Southern Star Team

Drinagh Rangers' Munster Junior Cup run was ended by Tralee Dynamos on Sunday afternoon.

Share this article

Drinagh Rangers were knocked out of the Munster Junior Cup by Tralee Dynamos at Canon Crowley Park on Sunday afternoon.

Drinagh Rangers

Drinagh Rangers 0

Tralee Dynamos 1


DRINAGH Rangers were knocked out of the Munster Junior Cup by Tralee Dynamos at Canon Crowley Park on Sunday afternoon.

The West Cork League club produced a battling display throughout an evenly fought round-four tie but were undone by the concession of a scrappy goal shortly after the restart that proved the difference between the sides.

Jonathan Burrows took advantage of slack Drinagh defending (a rarity on the afternoon) to fire home from a corner kick and that strike was enough to send Tralee Dynamos into the next round of the Munster Junior Cup.

Chances were at a premium throughout the 90 minutes with both defences acquitting themselves well and affording their opposing attacks little time or space.

Rangers’ best opportunity fell to Keith Jagoe on the quarter hour but the midfielder couldn't direct his header on target and his effort scraped the crossbar much to the relief of the Dynamos' defence.

Tralee bossed possession for much of the encounter and had James Sugrue dictating the tempo in the centre of the park.

The Canon Crowley Park club restricted their opponents to few clear-cut opportunities however and can hold their heads high despite exiting the competition.

Drinagh Rangers: James O'Regan, Shane Connolly, JJ Hurley, Barry O'Driscoll (T), JJ Collins, Darren Beamish, Adrian O'Driscoll, Keith Jagoe, Jamie Walsh, Barry O'Driscoll (H), Gavin Beamish, Robert O'Regan, Tomás Connolly and Derek Crowley.

Tralee Dynamos: Josh O'Reilly, Joe Weir, Jonathan Hannifin, Shane Guthrie, Jonathan Burrows, Stephen Conway, Derek O'Brien, James Sugrue (captain), Theo Diggin, Gee Paketarus, Anthony Murphy, Danny Roche, John Farraher, James McIntyre, Mark Fitzgerald, Darragh Lowth and Uros Ivkovic.

Referee: Paul McDermott.

  • Don’t miss Thursday's edition of The Southern Star for a full match report and all the reaction to Drinagh's narrow defeat.

Share this article

Related content


to our mailing list for the latest news and sport:

Thank You!

You have successfully been subscribed to SouthernStar newsletter!

Form submitting... Thank you for waiting.