Beara minors celebrate 30th anniversary

August 15th, 2018 1:00 PM

By Southern Star Team

The Beara team that won the county premier minor football championship in 1988.

Share this article

OVER the August bank holiday weekend, the Beara Coiste na nÓg hosted a 30-year reunion in the Beara Coast Hotel for the side which won the county premier minor football championship in 1988.

This was the first Beara minor team that had won the county title. 

They defeated O’Donovan Rossa in the country section final before defeating St Finbarr’s in the county final. Many of the team had won county U12 (1983) and U16 (1987) medals and a number of the team were part of the Beara team that won the country senior football title with Beara in 1997.

Beara Coiste na nÓg chairman Michael Dominic O’Sullivan thanked everyone for attending and gave a special mention to Brian Crowley and Finbarr Sullivan from Adrigole, who live in America.

The team captain back then is the current Mayor of the County of Cork, Patrick Gerald Murphy. He spoke about the good times that were had during the year with the team and the memories that were created.

Manager John Nolan and selector Terence O’Shea thanked the players for the dedication during 1988 and remarked how successful the players had been in later life. 

Afterwards, Beara Coiste na nÓg vice-chairperson Paudie Bernie O’Sullivan presented each of the players and management with a photo of the team.  

Share this article

Related content


to our mailing list for the latest news and sport:

Thank You!

You have successfully been subscribed to SouthernStar newsletter!

Form submitting... Thank you for waiting.