Bandon footballers win county intermediate football title

October 16th, 2016 3:33 PM

By Southern Star Team

Bandon celebrate Sunday's Cork IFC final success.

Share this article




Bandon were crowned Cork IFC champions following a hard-earned victory over Rockchapel at Páirc Uí Rinn this afternoon.

2014 IFC runners-up Rockchapel enjoyed the brighter start with Seamus Hickey, Daniel Curtin and Brendan Cahill combining well in attack. Hickey and Mark Sugrue exchanged points before the Duhallow side executed a superb move that ended with Brendan Cahill firing into the net.

The Duhallow club moved six clear at the quarter-hour mark before Bandon finally got to grips with their opponents massed defensive lines as Mark Sugrue (twice) and Barry Collins found their range to leave the lilywhites 1-4 to 0-3 behind at the break.

A marvellous third quarter in which the eventual winners racked up an unanswered 1-4 cemented Bandon’s victory, Adam Murphy finishing to the net and Mark Sugrue proving a handful for the Rockchapel defence.

Liam Collins raised a rare second half white flag for the losers with eight minutes to go but late Mark Sugrue and Ronan Crowley efforts edged Bandon 1-10 to 1-7 ahead. The West Cork side survived a late Rockchapel surge in search of an equalising goal to add the county IFC trophy to the PIHC title won a week before.



Bandon: Mark Sugrue 0-6 (3 frees), Adam Murphy 1-0, Barry Collins 0-2, Eoghan O’Donovan 0-1 and Ronan Crowley 0-1 each.

Rockchapel: Daniel Curtin 0-3, Brendan Cahill 1-0, Seamus Hickey and Liam Collins (1 free) 0-2 each.


Bandon: Pat Prendergast; Brian Crowley, James Walsh, James O’Donovan; Thomas O’Donoghue, Peter Murphy, Cian O’Mahony; Donough Lucey, Jason Hickey; Eoghan O’Donovan, Alan Johnson, Darren Crowley; Adam Murphy, Barry Collins, Mark Sugrue.

Subs: Philip Crowley for J Hickey (26), Kevin Lucey for T O’Donoghue (30), Ronan Crowley for D Lucey (55), Matthew McNamara for B Collins (58).

Rockchapel: Tony Collins; Eamonn O’Callaghan, Den Joe O’Callaghan, Brendan O’Sullivan; Niall O’Callaghan, Kevin Collins, John O’Callaghan; Maurice Stack, Conor Keppel; William Murphy, Jason O’Callaghan, Daniel Curtin; Liam Collins, Seamus Hickey, Brendan Cahill.

Subs: Mike Dooley for J O’Callaghan (36), Daniel O’Callaghan for N O’Callaghan (42), Ian Guiney for B Cahill (51).

Referee: Patrick O’Driscoll (Bride Rovers).

Share this article

Related content


to our mailing list for the latest news and sport:

Thank You!

You have successfully been subscribed to SouthernStar newsletter!

Form submitting... Thank you for waiting.