New Carrigaline area is tough one to call

May 23rd, 2019 10:10 PM

By Kieran O'Mahony

Share this article

HAVING been split into two local electoral areas for the 2014 local elections, it seems common sense has finally prevailed and Carrigaline has become a newly-created district of its own.

Previously the northern side of the town was attached to the Ballincollig, while the southern half of the town was attached to the Bandon Kinsale area. 

This new electoral area includes Carrigaline, Crosshaven, Monkstown, Passage West, Ringaskiddy, Ballinhassig and Waterfall.

Because this is a newly-created electoral area, it’s not possible to compare results from 2014, but what we do know is that 11 candidates are hoping to win a seat in this new six-seater constituency.

Sitting councillors hoping to retain their seats include former  county mayor  Seamus McGrath who is seen as a strong Fianna Fáil contender, having topped the poll  five years ago, in what was then the Ballincollig-Carrigaline Municipal District. 

Sinn Féin councillor Michael ‘Frick’ Murphy and independent councillor Marcia D’Alton, both from Passage West, are two other sitting councillors hoping to poll well and retain their seats. Fine Gael’s Aidan Lombard – who was a councillor in the Bandon Kinsale Municipal District, serving the southern side of Carrigaline, and served as chair up until this election – would  also be expected to poll well. 

His fellow running mate Liam O’Connor – who previously ran for the Labour Party  in 2014 – could be one to watch, as could be firefighter Michael Paul Murtagh from Crosshaven. However, Fianna Fáil would be still hoping to secure a second seat through either Passage West resident  Audrey Buckley or Crosshaven’s  Michael Corcoran.

First-timers in the race include Ballygarvan independent candidate Ben Dalton O’Sullivan, as well as teacher John Weldon from Ballinhassig, who is standing for Peader Toibín’s Aontú party. 



Aidan Lombard (Fine Gael)

Michael Paul Murtagh 

(Fine Gael)

Liam O’Connor (Fine Gael)

Catriona Reid (Green Party)

Ben Dalton O’Sullivan 


John Weldon (Aontú)

Séamus McGrath (Fianna Fáil)

Audrey Buckley (Fianna Fáil)

Michael Corcoran (Fianna Fáil)

Michael ‘Frick’ Murphy 

(Sinn Féin)

Marcia D’Alton (Independent)


Share this article

Related content


to our mailing list for the latest news and sport:

Thank You!

You have successfully been subscribed to SouthernStar newsletter!

Form submitting... Thank you for waiting.