Skibb will host Cork SFC derby between Clonakilty and Haven

February 28th, 2016 5:00 PM

By Southern Star Team

We meet again! Will Castlehaven's Conor Cahalane and Clonakilty's Sean McEvoy face one another when their clubs clash in the Cork SFC on April 23rd in Skibbereen?

Share this article

Rossa Park in Skibbereen will be the venue for the West Cork derby clash between Clonakilty and Castlehaven in the opening round of the county SFC.


ROSSA Park in Skibbereen will be the venue for the West Cork derby clash between Clonakilty and Castlehaven in the opening round of the county SFC.

The Cork County Board last week circulated dates, times and venues for the considerable first-round schedule. The Haven-Clon game is one of two senior matches on the evening of Saturday, April 23, with Nemo Rangers playing Duhallow in Coachford too, both games starting at 6.30pm.

The following day, Beara will make the trip to Bantry to face St Finbarr’s while St Nicholas do battle with Carrigaline in Ballygarvan and there is a meeting of UCC and Seandun at the grounds of Brian Dillons.

On April 30, O’Donovan Rossa and the Carbery division play in Dunmanway while Carbery Rangers meet Clyda Rovers in Carrigadrohid. 

The bank holiday Sunday sees Ilen Rovers up against Avondhu in the preliminary round against Coachford and there is a double-header in Brinny, Dohenys playing Douglas and Newcestown meeting CIT. ]The losers of the Ilen game will play Valley Rovers, in either Watergrasshill or Clonakilty.

Bandon’s return to intermediate ranks against Cill na Martra will take place in Kilmurray on Saturday, April 23 while Clonakilty’s second team face Kildorrery in Mayfield a day later.

Newcestown’s senior hurling bow against St Finbarr’s is pencilled in for May 29 in Brinny. Bandon get their premier intermediate campaign underway against Charleville on May 21, the same day Valley Rovers clash with Courcey Rovers in Riverstick.

In the IHC, Barryroe face Dungourney in Páirc Uí Rinn on May 15, Argideen Rangers clash with Na Piarsaigh’s second team on June 5 and Kilbrittain play Ballymartle or Grenagh on June 11.


(extra time applicable in the event of draws)

Saturday, April 23 (all 6.30pm)

SFC first round: Clonakilty v Castlehaven, Skibbereen; Nemo Rangers v Duhallow, Coachford.

PIFC first round: Ballinora v Grenagh, Blarney; Macroom v Fermoy, Mayfield; Mallow v Bantry Blues, Newcestown.

IFC first round: Cill na Martra v Bandon, Kilmurry.


Sunday, April 24

SFC first round: St Nicholas v Carrigaline, Ballygarvan, 3pm; Beara v St Finbarr’s, Bantry, 3.30pm; Seandun v UCC, Brian Dillons, 3.30pm.

PIFC first round: Éire Óg v Nemo Rangers, Ballygarvan, 2pm.

IFC first round: Glanworth v Glenville, Rathcormac; Kildorrery v Clonakilty, Mayfield, both 3pm.

Saturday, April 30 

SFC first round: Aghada v Muskerry, Páirc Uí Rinn, 6.15pm; Carbery Rangers v Clyda Rovers, Carrigadrohid, 6.30pm; Carbery v O’Donovan Rossa, Dunmanway, 7pm; Ballincollig v Bishopstown, Páirc Uí Rinn, 8pm.

IFC first round: Carrigaline v Kanturk, Brian Dillons, 6.30pm.


Sunday, May 1

SFC preliminary round: Avondhu v Ilen Rovers, Coachford, 3pm.

SFC first round: Dohenys v Douglas, Brinny, 3.30pm; Newcestown v Cork IT, Brinny, 6.30pm.

PIFC first round: St Vincent’s v St Michael’s, Páirc Uí Rinn, 3.45pm; Kiskeam v Na Piarsaigh, Mallow, 4pm.

IFC first round: Rockchapel v Youghal, Mallow, 2.15pm; St Finbarr’s v Mayfield, Páirc Uí Rinn, 2pm; Adrigole v Ballydesmond, Inchigeelagh, 6.45pm.


Saturday, May 7

SFC first round: Valley Rovers v Avondhu/Ilen Rovers, Watergrasshill or Clonakilty, 6.45pm.

PIFC first round: Castletownbere v Naomh Abán, Kealkill, 6.45pm; Béal Átha’n Ghaorthaidh v Newmarket, Macroom, 8pm.

IFC first round: Aghabullogue v Millstreet, Macroom, 6.15pm; Douglas v Mitchelstown, Castlelyons, 6.45pm; Glanmire v Kinsale, Ballygarvan, 6.45pm.

 Sunday, May 8 - Lá na gClub


Saturday, May 14

SHC first round: Avondhu v Ballymartle, Rathcormac, 7pm.


Saturday, May 15

SHC preliminary round: Killeagh v Muskerry, Páirc Uí Rinn, 4pm.

IHC preliminary round: Barryroe v Dungourney, Páirc Uí Rinn, 2.15pm.


Saturday, May 21 (all 7pm)

PIHC first round: Charleville v Bandon, Coachford; Valley Rovers v Courcey Rovers, Riverstick.

IHC preliminary round: Ballymartle v Grenagh, Ballincollig.

IHC first round: Kildorrery v Ballygarvan, Watergrasshill.


Saturday, May 28

SHC first round: Bride Rovers v Youghal, Ballynoe; Sarsfields v Carrigtwohill, Caherlag, both 7.30pm.

PIHC first round: Castlelyons v Inniscarra, Páirc Uí Rinn, 6.15pm; Fermoy v Kilworth, Kildorrery, 7.30pm; Tracton v Ballinhassig, Carrigaline, 7.30pm; Kanturk v Cloyne, Páirc Uí Rinn, 8pm.

IHC: Ballincollig v Meelin, Mourneabbey; Milford v Castlemartyr, Glanworth, both 7pm.


Sunday, May 29

SHC first round: Newtownshandrum v Killeagh (if Killeagh beat Muskerry), Mallow, 2pm; Douglas v Na Piarsaigh, Páirc Uí Rinn, 2.15pm; Glen Rovers v Carbery, Coachford, 3.30pm; Blackrock v Ballyhea, Mallow, 3.45pm; St Finbarr’s v Newcestown, Brinny, 4pm; Midleton v Bishopstown, Páirc Uí Rinn, 4pm; Erin’s Own v Cork IT, Church Road, 6.30pm.

PIHC first round: Carrigaline v Mallow, Ballyanly, 3pm; Watergrasshill v Blarney, Riverstown, 3.30pm.

IHC first round: Éire Óg v Ballinhassig, Brinny, 2.15pm; Aghabullogue v Inniscarra, Cloughduv, 6.30pm.


Friday, June 3

IHC first round: Dripsey v St Finbarr’s, Cloughduv, 7.30pm; Fr O’Neills v Carrigaline, Cobh, 7.30pm; Aghada v Blackrock, Carrigtwohill, 8pm.

 Saturday, June 4

IHC: Midleton v Glen Rovers, Carrigtwohill, 7.30pm; Douglas v Barryroe/Dungourney, TBC.


Sunday, June 5

SHC first round: Newtownshandrum v Muskerry (if Muskerry beat Killeagh), Mallow, 3.30pm.

IHC first round: Na Piarsaigh v Argideen Rangers, Brinny, 3pm.


Monday, June 6

SHC first round: Duhallow v Carrigdhoun, TBC; Imokilly v UCC, Riverstown, 4pm.


Saturday, June 11

IHC first round: Kilbrittain v Ballymartle/Grenagh, Kinsale or Mayfield.

Share this article

Related content