• Sport

Durrus end long wait for league title

Sunday, 10th February, 2019 4:00pm
Durrus end long wait for league title

Ryan Price scored for Skibbereen against Lyre Rovers B.

By Ger McCarthy


A 25-YEAR wait for a West Cork League trophy ended for Durrus as they were crowned OBrienWaterServices.com Championship winners.

Mizen AFC lost 3-1 at home to Kilbrittain Rovers and that result confirmed their title rivals as champions. 

The following afternoon, Durrus were presented with their first West Cork League trophy in quarter of a century following a 4-1 Beamish Cup second-round victory at home to Bunratty United.

Winning the OBrienWaterServices.com Championship is a fitting reward for a Durrus side that produced some terrific football throughout the campaign and appear more than capable of holding their own in next season’s Premier Division.

Last weekend’s action began with Skibbereen travelling to Lyre Rovers B and registering a 6-0 OBrienWaterServices.com Championship defeat on the hosts. Rob Hegarty (two), Ryan Price, JP Reen, Eoghan O’Donoghue and Kevin O’Regan were on target for the Baltimore Road outfit. 

Later that evening, Cian O’Leary, John Duggan and David Quinlan strikes ended Mizen AFC’s Championship hopes as Kilbrittain defeated the title-chasers 3-1. David Farrell netted Mizen’s solitary reply.

A busy Sunday of West Cork League Women’s sevens tournament action saw Beara United B overpower Lyre Rovers thanks to Katie Kelly, Orla Sullivan, Sarah Hanley, Nina Murphy, Bernadette Sullivan and Danielle Kelly efforts. Beara’s other team edged Drinagh Rangers 2-1 thanks to Claire Power and Serena Labanca goals in a game Catriona Moloney scored for the Canon Crowley Park side. 

Inter Kenmare bested Durrus 3-1, courtesy of Linda Twomey (two) and Katie O’Shea goals. Helen Martin replied for Durrus.

On the same afternoon, the Durrus men’s team fared better as they knocked Premier Division side Bunratty United out of the Beamish Cup. Shane McSweeney, Seán Stikes, Jamie Coughlan plus an own goal helped Durrus register a 4-1 victory with Colm Cleary on target for the visitors. 

Drinagh Rangers B overcame Dunmanway Town B after extra-time to reach the last four of the McCarthy Sports Shop (Bantry) Division 2 Cup. 

Cian Collins scored for Dunmanway but Eoghan Daly and Eamonn Connolly efforts sent Drinagh through.