Lynch named Club Person of the Year

July 2nd, 2019 1:00 PM

By Southern Star Team

Bertie Hourihane, Skibbereen RFC, and Michael Keane, Munster Branch President, present the Frank Galvin Memorial Trophy for the Club Person of the Year to Darren Lynch at the Skibbereen RFC Awards Night.

Share this article

Darren Lynch was named Skibbereen Rugby Club's Person of the Year at the recent end of season awards night.

DARREN Lynch was named Skibbereen Rugby Club’s Person of the Year at the recent end of season awards night at the West Cork Hotel.

Club secretary Lynch, who was heavily involved in the organising of the club’s successful hosting of the junior interpro match between Munster and Leinster, was a deserving and popular winner of the Frank Galvin Memorial Trophy. 

He was presented with the award by the incoming Munster Rugby President Michael Keane.

Also on the night Jack O’Driscoll won the Player of the Year Award while Daniel Duggan received the Young Player of the Year Award.

On the pitch it was another hugely successful season for the Skibbereen club with the U18s All-Ireland triumph taking pride of place. After winning the Munster Cup this talented team battled it out with Navan in the final in April, and after a close contest finished 10-10, the teams shared the cup. 

Meanwhile, two of Skibbereen’s finest products, cousins Gavin and Liam Coombes continued to make waves with Munster last season. Gavin signed a two-year deal with Munster in late 2018. He was the first player from Skibbereen RFC to join the Munster Rugby Academy in 2016 and then became the first-ever player from the club to sign a professional senior contract. Great times for a club that has big plans for the future.

Share this article