Keohane dominates Bandon Mart show

November 1st, 2015 5:15 PM

By Southern Star Team

Gerard Keohane, Timoleague, winner of the Continental bullocks class, receiving the trophy from Vivienne Barrett of AIB Bank, Bandon, sponsors, at the Bandon Mart autumn store cattle show and sale. (Photo

Share this article


THE quality of cattle exhibited at the autumn store cattle show and sale at Bandon Mart this month was exceptionally high, drawing favourable comment from the judge, Jim Horgan of Dawn Meats.   

Pride of place went to the Continental breeds, where Gerard Keohane, Ballinroher,  had a field day, gaining all three prizes for the Continental bullocks, first and third for the Continental heifers and, for good measure, first for a Continental cow. Having changed his system of farming from dairying to beef production, some eight years ago, Gerard seems to have selected the right breed to enhance his beef prospects. Their presence drew a gallery of admirers in the mart and, when quizzed, Gerard said that a good grass-growing season and a liberal feed of Consie’s Ration helped to put the shine on them. 

The mart is most grateful to the many generous sponsors of the store cattle show and sale, including ABP (Bandon), Allied Irish Bank, Bandon Co-Op, Bank of Ireland,  Eclipesce Calf Feed, Bandon Farm Store, Dawn Meats, Glashlyn Vets, Southern Milling, The Old Still Bar, TJ Crowley (Millers) and  John Daly (Fast Food).



Continental bullocks: 1, 2 and 3, Gerard Keohane, Ballinroher, Timoleague.

Hereford-Aberdeen Angus x bullocks: 1 Michael Burke, Carhuegarriffe, Clonakilty; 2 Michael O’Donovan, Coolbane, Ballinspittle; 3 Teddy Harrington, Ballyhandler, Ballinspittle.

Friesian x bullocks: 1 David Rice, Oaklands, Belgooly; 2 Denis  Browne, Belgooly; 3 Niall Murphy,  Gullane South,  Donoughmore.  

Continental heifers: 1 and 3 Gerard Keohane Ballinroher, Timoleague; 2 Michael Cronin, Killeens.

Hereford  and Aberdeen Angus x heifers:1 Ted Harrington, Ballyhandler, Ballinspittle; 2 and 3 John Kingston, Derry, Ballineen.

Friesian cow: 1 Michael P Crowley, Inchafune, Dunmanway; 2 Gwyneth Busteed, Lissaphoca, Bandon; 3 Patrick McCarthy, Ballymore, Bandon.

Beef  cow: 1 Gerard Keohane, Ballinroher, Timoleague; 2 and 3 Felix O’Neill, Knocks, Ballineen.


Share this article

Related content


to our mailing list for the latest news and sport:

Thank You!

You have successfully been subscribed to SouthernStar newsletter!

Form submitting... Thank you for waiting.