Community awards schemes 10th Anniversary

November 4th, 2015 10:05 PM

By Southern Star Team

Pictured are Michael Keohane, Baltimore, and Sophie Donnelly, the 2015 All-Ireland Youth Volunteers of the Year.

Share this article

STUDENTS from across County Cork who give their time to help in their local community are being encouraged to enter the 2016 Pramerica Spirit of Community Awards before the deadline of 23rd October and following in the footsteps of last year’s West Cork winner.

Last year, Michael Keohane from Baltimore, then a Leaving Cert student at St Fachtna’s De Las Salle Secondary School in Skibbereen, picked up the 2015 prize and 2016 marks the 10th anniversary of the community awards, the only all-Ireland youth initiative of its kind which rewards post-primary students for outstanding acts of volunteerism and the positive contribution they make in their local communities and further afield.

 The last call for entry is being supported by The National Association of Principals and Deputy Principals (NAPD), The General Teaching Council for Northern Ireland (GTCNI),

Foróige and Scouting Ireland, which partner with Letterkenny-based Pramerica Systems Ireland.

 Application forms can be completed and submitted online to a principal or deputy principal to who have until November 6th  to nominate students for national-level recognition. Every school can submit a maximum of two applications to go forward for national judging.

 Prizes for the 20 finalists include €500, an invitation to the Gala Awards dinner and fantastic recognition for the school. Two All-Ireland Youth Volunteers of the Year will also be selected from the finalists, each of whom will receive €1,000 for their chosen charity and a trip to the United States.

 For more see 

Share this article

Related content


to our mailing list for the latest news and sport:

Thank You!

You have successfully been subscribed to SouthernStar newsletter!

Form submitting... Thank you for waiting.