Another festival of fine drama

April 1st, 2017 10:05 PM

By Southern Star Team

Donie Walsh, director of Kilmeen Drama Group's production of The Seafarer by Conor McPherson, accepting the award for Best Play from West Cork Drama Festival director Gerard Finn l. (Pho

Share this article

AFTER a wonderful programmes of scintillating drama and comedy, the West Cork Drama Festival drew to a close on Sunday night last with the announcement of the results and awards. Adjudicator Padraic McIntyre was warm and full of praise for the festival and the 11 productions. First place in the open section went to the local Kilmeen Group for their powerful and tense production of Conor McPherson’s The Seafarer. 

The Best Director award went to its director Donie Walsh. Kilmeen’s Darren Cannon won Best Supporting Actor as Mr Lockhart while Tommy Moyles as Sharky won the Best Actor award.  Second place went to Bridge Drama Group for their production of An Inspector Calls and they also won the overall Best Presentation and Best Set awards. 

In addition, Jacqui Whelan as Sybil Birling from this group won the Best Actress award.  Third place was awarded to Ballyduff’s production of Martin McDonagh’s The Cripple of Innismaan. 

They also won the Best Sound award and Mary Flavin as Mammy won the Best Supporting Actress award.

In the confined section, first place went to the Doonbeg Drama Group for their production of another Conor McPherson play The Night Alive. Director Mary J Egan, won Best Director. This group also won a number of acting awards – Annmarie Doyle as Amy, Best Supporting Actress; Declan Honan as Doc, Best Supporting Actor; Kenneth Blowers as Tommy, Best Actor.  

Holycross/Ballycahill Drama Group came second with their presentation of the poignant and humorous Little Gem by Elaine Murphy and they also won the Best Lighting award while Joanne O’Neill as Kay won Best Actress honours. Schull Drama Group came third with their production of the Neil Simon comedy Last of the Red Hot Lovers. They also won the Most Entertaining Play award.  Special adjudicator’s awards were presented to Dirk Baumann of Curtain Call Productions for Technical/Projection for their production Closer; Sarah Loughnane and Cathal O’Neill as the children in Nenagh Players production of Ariel; Frank Ryan and Nick Whelan of Bridge Drama Group for their use of underscore music in The Inspector Calls; Adam Clark and Eugene O’Sullivan for Lighting and Sound in Take 5’s production of The Telephone Exchange.

The festival committee wishes to take this opportunity to thank all patrons and sponsors for their support. The theatre website ( has information on all forthcoming events. 

Share this article

Related content


to our mailing list for the latest news and sport:

Thank You!

You have successfully been subscribed to SouthernStar newsletter!

Form submitting... Thank you for waiting.