Cookies on The Southern Star website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We also use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the The Southern Star website. However, if you would like to, you can change your cookie settings at any time by amending your browser settings.
How does The Southern Star use cookies?
Cookies enable us to identify your device, or you when you have logged in. We use cookies that are strictly necessary to enable you to move around the site or to provide certain basic features. We use cookies to enhance the functionality of the website by storing your preferences, for example. We also use cookies to help us to improve the performance of our website to provide you with a better user experience.
We dont sell the information collected by cookies, nor do we disclose the information to third parties, except where required by law (for example to government bodies and law enforcement agencies).
Hide Message
  • Sport

Healy and O’Donovan navigate to Carbery win

Wednesday, 6th December, 2017 2:00pm
Healy and O’Donovan navigate to Carbery win

Making a splash: Lissarda’s Donal Healy and Drinagh’s Denis O’Donovan (Toyota Starlet) crossing a stream at Threegneeves en-route to victory in the Carbery Navigation Trial . (Photo: Martin Walsh)

FOR the second time in three seasons the Carbery Navigation Trial was won by the Lissarda and Drinagh duo of Donal Healy and Denis O’Donovan (Toyota Starlet).  

The event, round two of the Munster Navigation Trial Championship and the final round of the Carbery Plastics Skibbereen and District Car Club Championship, was based at the headquarters of Kilmacabea GAA Club in Leap.  

The winners traversed the 85-mile route dropping 14 penalties – ten less than the second placed crew of Leap’s Dermot Whelton (Subaru) and his Lisavaird navigator Mark McCarthy.  

Top seeds and last year’s winners, Ovens driver Owen Murphy (Subaru) and his Togher navigator Daire Hayes were third, with 25 penalties. The Beginner’s category was won by Bandon’s David Beamish and his navigator Chris Brady. 

Any aspirations that the top crews would complete the event with a clean sheet were squandered within the opening 30 minutes.

The infamous network of lanes around French’s in Ballyroe provided a fascinating opening. In their haste to secure an early advantage, top seeds Murphy/Hayes made an excursion into a field. Ironically, two years ago they did exactly the same at the location. As they were returning to more solid ground there was a further element of déja-vu as the crew that were passing were none other than Healy and O’Donovan, as it was in 2015.  

The farmyard lane complex across the road proved daunting for many crews as they had to traverse some lanes on two occasions; each time checking in at the same location albeit successive time points. Here, Healy/O’Donovan had to queue behind those checking in for the first time as the latter made their final visit before heading further north. By the completion of the first time card Healy and O’Donovan had a slight edge but Murphy and Hayes and Limerick’s Joe and Greg Shinnors (Subaru) were still in contention. 

Expectations for Whelton and McCarthy were high until they were penalised for a wrong near Knockavoher.  

Meanwhile, Monaghan’s Derek Mackarel (Subaru) and his Togher navigator Muireann Hayes lost time when their Subaru ended up in a field. 

Another complexity was the parallel farmyard lane to a road at Threegneeves that included a double visit via a water splash. Despite a slight altercation with a gatepost, Healy and O’Donovan remained in control and went on to repeat their overall win on 2015, O’Donovan was also the winning navigator in 2014.

Regaining confidence after the Knockavoher incident Whelton and McCarthy were in fine form for the remainder of the event to secure second. Murphy and Hayes lost more time negotiating Buttimer’s farm in Rossmore, they finished third, albeit minus a rear bumper. Mackarel and Hayes were fourth with novices and Ulster crew Emmet McCooey and Conor McMahon (Subaru) taking fifth overall and a category win. 

Mallow’s Derek Butler and his Galway navigator Ruaidhri Nash, who won the Semi-Expert category, had difficulties on the final section but still claimed sixth overall. 

Clonakilty’s Cal McCarthy and The Pike’s Eamonn McCarthy (Subaru) finished third in the Novice section. The best Skibbereen and District Car Club crew were Macroom’s David Kelliher and Kevin Healy (Subaru).  

Results: 1. D Healy/D O’Donovan (Toyota Starlet) 14 penalties; 2. D Whelton/M McCarthy (Subaru Impreza) 24 pens; 3. O Murphy/D Hayes (Subaru Impreza) 25 pens; 4. D Mackarel/M Hayes (Subaru Impreza) 34 pts; 5. E McCooey/C McMahon (Subaru Impreza) 58 pens; 6. D Butler/R Nash (Toyota Starlet) 89 pens. Experts: 1. D Whelton/M McCarthy; Semi-Experts: D Butler/R Nash; Novice: E McCooey/C McMahon; Beginners: D Beamish/C Brady (Opel Vectra) 507 pens.

The event was the concluding round of the Carbery Plastics Skibbereen and District Car Club Championship, as the Drivers’ title was won by Rosscarbery’s Brian O’Mahony and the Co-Drivers’/Navigators award was won by Lisavaird’s Mark McCarthy.

Stay up-to-date with the latest West Cork news with a Southern Star digital subscription on your phone, tablet or computer. Click here for more.