Local runners back Skibb ten-miler

November 28th, 2018 2:00 PM

By Southern Star Team

Runners take off at the start of the ten-mile run at the Noreen McCarthy Memorial Road Race and Walk organised by Skibbereen AC, which raised funds for Skibbereen Community Hospital and the athletic club. (Photo: Anne Minihane)

Share this article

LOCAL runners turned out in force for the Skibbereen AC ten-mile road race and walk with the fast last two miles of the course adding to the excitement.

Denis Lyons (St Finbarr’s AC) took first place in the senior men’s ten-miler with a time of 1:00.06 and so was the winner of the Noreen McCarthy Perpetual Memorial Cup.

Next up was Skibbereen’s own John Collins from Carrigbawn who is better known for his exploits on the track in 1500m and 3000m but he showed here that he is just as quick on the road. 

Third home was Pavel Hensirouski from Clonakailty followed by Skibbereen’s Justin Ryan, and Patrick McCarthy (Baltimore, also first home in O45), Billy O’Brien (Skibbereen AC) who was also the winner of the O40, Jerome O’Brien (Drimoleague), Edwin Sutton (Kinsale) and Sean Allis (Clonakilty) were all in the top ten.

Rosscarbery’s Deirdre McCarthy was the winner of the senior women’s race and not too far behind her was Dympna McSweeney from Dunmamway, closely followed by Julie O’Brien from Ballydehob. Raymond Smith (Killarney) was first in O50, Skibbereen’s Gerard Hourihane was first in the O55, with Bart Kearney (Sunday’s Well) taking the honours in O60.There was local success in the women’s O45 too as Ann O’Driscoll from Skibbereen was first past the finish line in her category.

With runners from Skibbereen, Clonakilty, Rosscarbery, Beara, Bandon, Castlehaven, Ballinascarthy, Kinsale, Schull, Dunmanway, Enniskeane, Bantry, Durrus, Leap, Eyeries and more, there was great support for the Skibbereen AC ten-mile road race and walk, which is fantastic to see.

Share this article

Related content


to our mailing list for the latest news and sport:

Thank You!

You have successfully been subscribed to SouthernStar newsletter!

Form submitting... Thank you for waiting.