Southern Star Ltd. logo

Garnish complete the Beara junior A football three-in-a-row

August 19th, 2018 8:41 AM

By Southern Star Team

Garnish complete the Beara junior A football three-in-a-row Image
Urhan's Martin McCarthy is challenged by Joe Harrington of Garnish during the Beara JAFC final at Adrigole on Saturday evening.

Share this article

Brian Terry O'Sullivan inspired champs to successful title defence

Garnish 0-11

Urhan 0-7


WINTER is coming – judging by the weather in Adrigole on Saturday night – and Garnish are still number one in Beara junior football.

The reigning champions completed the Beara JAFC three-in-a-row on Saturday night, inspired by man-of-the-match Brian Terry O’Sullivan in the middle of the park, who was closely followed by the impressive Jack O’Sullivan.

Physically stronger than Urhan, Garnish coped better with the wind and rain, especially in the second half. Points from Paul O’Neill (three frees), Fintan O’Sullivan (3) and a superb Sean Terry O’Sullivan effort helped Garnish, who had the wind at their backs, lead 0-7 to 0-4 at the break, with Concubhur Harrington and Jamie O’Neill keeping Urhan in touch.

Garnish grew stronger in the second half and outscored Urhan by four points to three, and never looked like conceding the goal that Urhan needed to drag themselves back into the game.

Again, it was Fintan O’Sullivan (3) and Sean Terry that worked the scoreboard, and while Jamie O’Neill (2) and Concubhur Harrington kept Urhan in touch, they struggled to make headway against a stubborn Garnish defence.

Brian Terry did see red for a second yellow in the ten minutes of injury time played, but it mattered little, his work was done, as was Garnish’s, deserving winners.



Garnish: Fintan O’Sullivan 0-6 (4f), Paul O’Neill 0-3 (3f), Sean T O’Sullivan 0-2.

Urhan: Concubhur Harrington (1f), Jamie O’Neill (2f) 0-3 each, Conor Lowney 0-1f.

Garnish: Martin O’Sullivan; Dara Henshaw, Eanna Murphy, Brian Walsh; Hugh O’Sullivan, Joe Harrington, Jack O’Sullivan; Fintan O’Sullivan, Brian T O’Sullivan; Gary O’Sullivan, Paul O’Neill, Sean T O’Sullivan; Sean Henshaw, Finbarr Sheehan, Dean Henshaw.

Subs: David Harrington for G O’Sullivan (ht), Paul Murphy for S Henshaw (41), Ross Murphy for Jack O’Sullivan (60), Cormac O’Neill for F O’Sullivan (60).

Urhan: Diarmuid O’Sullivan; Danny O’Neill, Aidan O’Neill, Daniel Elphick; Eamonn O’Shea, Cormac O’Shea, Ciarán O’Sullivan; Dan Dwyer, Conor Lowney; Dave McCarthy, Martin McCarthy, Alan O’Donoghue; Concubhur Harrington, James Healy, Jamie O’Neill.

Subs: Cillian O’Shea for D McCarthy (36), Martin O’Neill for Alan O’Donoghue (42), Conor O’Sullivan for J Healy (48), Enda Lowney for C O’Sullivan (60, inj).

Referee: Martin Hegarty (Castletownbere).

Share this article

Related content