Adrigole finish strong to win Beara title

July 23rd, 2018 9:27 AM

By Southern Star Team

Champions! The Adrigole team that defeated Castletownbere in the Beara Junior B league final for the Noel Kelly Cup.

Share this article

Adrigole captured the Beara Junior B League title after a hard-fought win over neighbours Castletownbere at Glengarriff on Saturday.  

Beara Junior B league

Adrigole            1-13 

Castletownbere 2-8

ADRIGOLE captured the Beara Junior B League title after a hard-fought win over neighbours Castletownbere at Glengarriff on Saturday.  

In an evenly matched contest, the greater strength in depth and work-rate paved the way for Adrigole to prevail. Castletown raced out of the traps and led 1-2 to 0-0 after ten minutes with Gary Hurley raising the green flag, finishing off a well-worked Town move to the net.  

Adrigole slowly began to settle and a free from Cormac Carey and a point from play by Fergus Carey got them off the mark but Liam Hanley replied to extend the Town advantage.  

On the quarter hour mark Castletown were dealt a blow when midfielder Hanley was shown a black card, and when Jason Goggin and Cormac Carey pointed to leave the minimum between the sides it was game on.  

However, it was Castletown who gained the initiative when a short kick-out was intercepted and Fiachra Murphy finished to the net, and when Donagh O’Sullivan pointed they led 2-4 to 0-4 with ten minutes remaining in the half.  

Adrigole dominated the rest of the half with two points from captain Eoin O’Sullivan-Greene followed by a Cormac Carey free to leave three between the sides. When Darragh Carey pointed from play the half-time score read 2-4 to 0-8 in favour of Castletown.

The second half was equally as intense as the first half and with the slippery conditions making handling difficult, both sides squandered some good scoring chances. Donagh O’Sullivan, who was Castletown’s best player, extended their advantage to four with points from play and from a free before Adrigole were awarded a penalty after Cormac Carey was upended in the goalmouth. The resulting penalty was saved by David Kelly in the Town goal.  

Adrigole were now dominating and in the next attack, a defence-splitting move ended with Cormac Carey hitting to the net to leave the minimum between the sides with 15 minutes remaining.  

Castletown lost Adam Hurley to a black card but a point from Gary Hurley kept two between the sides with 12 minutes remaining.  

In a thrilling finale Adrigole levelled with points from Cormac Carey and Jason Goggin but Castletown refused to lie down and Donagh O’Sullivan pointed a free to leave Town leading by one with five minutes remaining.  

Adrigole finished stronger and Kenneth O’Neill equalised before Liam Harrington gave Adrigole the lead for the first time with the match heading for injury time.  

Castletownbere kept battling but couldn’t break through the Adrigole defence where Sean Joe O’Sullivan and Dan Crowley gave excellent performances.  

The evening belonged to Adrigole and the impressive Kenneth O’Neill secured the victory with a well-taken point, as Adrigole won 1-13 to 2-8.  Credit goes to referee Tommy Barry from Bantry and his officials for a job well done and to the Glengarriff club for having the pitch in great condition.

Following the match Shirley Murphy of Beara GAA and Donal Kelly representing the Kelly family presented the Noel Kelly cup to Adrigole captain Eoin O’Sullivan-Greene.


Share this article