Pupils' outstanding efforts rewarded at Schull ceremony

December 3rd, 2015 7:20 AM

By Southern Star Team

At the Schull Community College ceremony were, standing, from left: Padraig O'Sullivan, deputy principal; Patrick O'Driscoll, Fintan O'Mahony, Laura O'Mahony, Meg Minihane, Sonny Hassett and principal Brendan Drinan. Seated, from left: Katie O'Driscoll, Amy Dineen, Dr Rachel Fellows, Caoimhe McCorma

Share this article

THE outstanding efforts and achievements of the students of Schull Community College were celebrated at this year’s annual prize-giving ceremony.  

In his address, school principal Brendan Drinan referred to some of the highlights of the past year including the excellent Leaving and Junior Certificate results, a Transition Year programme of unrivalled diversity, and continued success in a range of co-curricular competitions including the Young Social Innovators and BT Young Scientist competition.

Guest of honour on the night was past pupil Dr Rachel Fellows. Dr Fellows, who works in the Local Injury Unit at Bantry Hospital.

Laura O’Mahony swept the boards winning Best Leaving Certificate, Gradam Gaeilge and German awards. Meg Minihane, now studying Nutritional Sciences at UCC, was named Student of the Year and awarded the Bollinger Award. 

Meg was rewarded for her involvement across the broadest spectrum of life at Schull Community College. Katie O’Driscoll won the Staff Award for her enthusiastic contribution to the whole school community during her six years there. The Marie Hamilton Award, a scholarship worth €2,500 a year over four years, is funded by a local benefactor. This year’s successful candidate was Fintan McCarthy, who is currently studying Biology and Chemical Sciences at UCC, while also training hard in his chosen sport of rowing. The Best Junior Certificate Award went to Noah McCarthy Fisher for his outstanding set of results.

Sportsperson of the Year was second year James Kelly who plays football, basketball and table tennis. It is however as a table tennis player that he really excels, as James is currently ranked No.1 in Munster at both junior and senior grades.

Leaving Cert Awards/ Best Leaving Cert: Laura O’Mahony, Agricultural Science: Patrick O’Driscoll, Construction Studies: Micheál O’Sullivan,  Engineering: Sonny Hassett,  Gradam Gaeilge: Laura O’Mahony, Ursula Henzler German Award: Laura O’Mahony, Mair Lewis Fenn Art Award: Leah Bredendick, Business Studies: Katie Downey Junior Certificate Awards Best Junior Cert: Noah McCarthy-Fisher, Home Economics: Evelyn O’Sullivan, Metalwork: Annie Baker, Woodwork: Kieran Roycroft, Art: Annie Baker Sports Awards Sportsperson of the Year: James Kelly, Male Footballer of the Year: Danny McSweeney, Ladies Footballer of the Year: Amy Dineen, Sailing: Gleb Romantchek, Bastketball: James Kelly, Athletics: Bethan Jenkins. General Awards Ceramicx Ireland Scoiláireachtaí Gaeilge: Tarah Fleming, Finola & Denis Quinlan Music Award: Caoimhe McCormack, Green Schools: Fionn Ferreira, Schull & District Community Award: Siobhán O’Donovan, Bollinger Community Link Project: Flo McCarthy Doig, Sorcha Browning, Rose O’Donovan & Sinéad Carava, Wendy Smith Award: Shane Swanton.

Share this article

Related content


to our mailing list for the latest news and sport:

Thank You!

You have successfully been subscribed to SouthernStar newsletter!

Form submitting... Thank you for waiting.