Ploughing season gets off to bright start in Macroom

January 7th, 2017 6:25 PM

By Southern Star Team

Katelyn Kelleher, Laura Buttimer, Catriona Buckley and Katie Dinan all smiles at the new year's day ploughing match at Macroom. (Photo: Denis Boyle)

Share this article

THE first ploughing match of the season in Cork West took place in glorious sunshine on new year’s day on the lands of Pat and Nora Casey at Curaghwaddra, Aghinagh, by their kind permission.  

The field is situated six miles to the north of Macroom on a gently sloping site in picturesque undulating hillside. Conditions were ideal, being dry underfoot and overhead. 

There was a large attendance of spectators and with a filed over 50 competitors, judges Martin Kehoe (world champion) of Wexford and his team of judges had a stern challenge in deciding the results.

Results – Senior Tractor: 1st Barry O’Sullivan, 2nd Jim Grace, 3rd John A O’Donovan, 4th Kevin O’Driscoll, 5th Denis McCarthy.

Intermediate: 1st Jimmy Nyhan, 2nd Geoffery Whycerly, 3rd Tony Wharton.

Under 28: 1st Kieran Coakley, 2nd Gerard Kirby, 3rd David Walsh.

Under 21: 1st Aidan O’Donovan, 2nd Ian O’Farrell,  3rd James O’Sullivan, 4th Andrew  O’Donovan.

2 Furrow Reversible: 1st Gerard Coakley, 2nd Liam O’Driscoll, 3rd Michael Wycherly.

3 Furrow Reversible: 1st Padraig Walsh, 2nd Dan Hurley, 3rd Tim Lawlor, 4th Jerry Creedon, 5th Patrick Buckley.

3 Furrow Conventional: 1st John Keohane, 2nd Matthew Coakley, 3rd Kevin O’Riordan.

Open Hydraulic Vintage: 1st Denis Cummins, 2nd Michael Coomey, 3rd Maurice Sheehy, 4th John O’Neill, 5th Michael Walsh.

Confined Hydraulic Vintage: 1st Cian Ryan.

Trailor Vintage: 1st Michael Bennett, 2nd Jerry Cadagon.

Horse: 1st John O’Donovan, 2nd JJ Delaney.

Local 3 Furrow Beginner: 1st James Downey.

Local 3 Furrow Standard: 1st Jer Buckley, 2nd Fintan Creedon, 3rd Dan F O’Riordan, 4th Willie Lyons, 5th Gerard Kelleher.

Local 3-4 Furrow Reversible:  1st Billy Wiseman, 2nd Danny McCarthy, 3rd Michael McCarthy, 4th Donnacha Buttimer, 5th William Lynch, 6th Sean Buttimer.

Macra: 1st Alan Lynch.

Upcoming fixtures include Bandon ploughing match on Sunday next, January 8th on the lands of Derek and Pauline Lovell at Knockbrown, Bandon.

Share this article

Related content


to our mailing list for the latest news and sport:

Thank You!

You have successfully been subscribed to SouthernStar newsletter!

Form submitting... Thank you for waiting.