Large turnout for Clogagh ploughing

February 27th, 2017 8:05 AM

By Southern Star Team

All sorts of ploughing methods being used in the various categories at the Clogagh ploughing match on Sunday. (Photos: Denis Boyle)

Share this article

CLOGAGH Ploughing Association held their 21st annual ploughing match on Sunday last, February 19th, at Clogagh by kind permission of Norman Tuttle. 

The venue, a 22-acre stubble field was ideal for the occasion as there were over forty seven competitors, including three new competitors – Conor Farrell and  Rory Holland in the U28 reversible class and Gerard Cummins (16) in the confined hydraulic vintage class. The field is sheltered on all sides by rolling green hillside, which led to very pleasant conditions for the large attendance.

The judges were James Prendergast, Mossie Walsh, John McSweeney and Richard Houlihan  from Waterford and Mossie Fleming and Niall Twomey from East Cork. Given the high standard of ploughing in Cork West ,  they found their job challenging. 



Senior Tractor class: 1st Barry O’Sullivan, 2nd John Murphy, 3rd John A O’Donovan, 4th Jim Grace, 5th Stanley Deane.

Intermediate class:  1st Jimmy Nyhan,  2nd Geoffrey Wycherley, 3rd DJ Keohane, 4th Jackie O’Driscoll.

Under 28: 1st Kieran Coakley, 2nd Gerard Kirby, 3rd David Walsh.

Under 21: 1st James O’Sullivan, 2nd Aidan O’Donovan, 3rd Ian O’Farrell, 4th Andrew O’Donovan

Macra: 1st Cian Harrington.

Farmerette: 1st Rachel O’Driscoll.

3 Furrow Class: 1st John Keohane, 2nd Matthew Coakley, 3rd Kevin O’Riordan.

Beginners 3 Furrow 1st Denis Cooper.

Senior Reversible: 1st Ger Coakley, 2nd Liam O’Driscoll, 3rd Michael Wycherley, 4th Oisin O’Brien.

Standard 3 Furrow Reversible: 1st Padraig Walsh, 2nd Timothy Lawlor, 3rd Dan Hurley, 4th Jerry Creedon.

Under 28 Reversible: 1st Conor O’Farrell, 2nd Rory Holland.

Senior Hydraulic Vintage: 1st John O’Neill, 2nd Lesley Wolfe, 3rd Maurice Walsh, 4th Maurice Sheehy, 5th Mike Coomey.

Confined Hydraulic Vintage: 1st Cian Ryan, 2nd Gerard Cummins, 3rd Pascal Coughlan, 4th Ite Wiserman.

Trailer Vintage:  1st Michael Bennett, 2nd John Wolfe.

Single Furrow: 1st Gordon Jennings, 2nd Sean Clancy.

Senior Horse: 1st John O’Donovan.

Under 40 horse: 1st Shane McCarthy.

Upcoming fixture:  Cahermore will host the Cork West County final this Sunday, February 26th. 

Share this article

Related content


to our mailing list for the latest news and sport:

Thank You!

You have successfully been subscribed to SouthernStar newsletter!

Form submitting... Thank you for waiting.