Harold is in the running to be IFA's Munster regional chair

October 19th, 2019 10:15 PM

By Southern Star Team

Harold Kingston has been nominated to run for Munster IFA chairman.

Share this article

Courtmacsherry farmer Harold Kingston has been nominated to run for Munster Regional IFA Chairman. 

COURTMACSHERY farmer Harold Kingston has been nominated to run for Munster Regional IFA Chairman. 

The current Cork Central chairman, will be up against Kerry chairman Pat O’Driscoll and Willie Hanrahan from the Doonbeg branch for the position. 

Harold has been vocal in highlighting mental health difficulties in the agri sector. 

He had to follow his own advice and seek help when the pressure of the long winter of 2018 impacted on his own health.  

Thankfully after getting help from his GP, with the support of his community, and by making some work changes, Harold is now back to full health.

He appeared on The Late Late Show last April when he was part of a panel of three who addressed the problem of burn-out.

Meanwhile, a Cork man, a Mayo man and a Limerick man have been nominated to run for IFA president.  

They are Munster Regional chairman John Coughlan, Buttevant branch; national treasurer Tim Cullinan, Toomevara branch, Tipperary and National Livestock chairman Angus Woods, Barndarrig branch, Wicklow. 

John Coughlan is nominated by the Cork North county executive and Harold Kingston (Cork Central), Corney Buckley (Cork West), Shay Galvin (Limerick), James Murphy (Kilkenny) and Martin Gilvarry (Mayo).

Tim Cullinan is nominated by the Tipperary North county executive and Erica O’Keeffe (Tipperary South), Richard Scally (Offaly), John Curran (Meath), Brendan McLaughlin (Donegal) and Willie Hanrahan (Clare).

Angus Woods is nominated by the Wicklow county executive and James Kehoe (Wexford), George Collier (Carlow), Jim O’Connor (Roscommon), Francie Gorman (Laois) and Gerard Melia (Louth).

Two candidates have been nominated to run for deputy president. They are national environment chairman Thomas Cooney and Kildare/West Wicklow IFA chairman Brian Rushe.

Debates will begin on October 21st and run until November 21st. Voting will take place in each of IFA’s 945 branches from November 25th until Friday, December 13th. The election count will take place in Dublin on Tuesday, December 17th.

The 16th president of IFA and the other national officers will take up office at the AGM in January 2020.

Share this article