Hardy enthusiasts brave the cold for Kilbrittain ploughing match

February 18th, 2017 8:10 AM

By Southern Star Team

Andrew O'Donovan from Leap who took part in the U21 class at the Kilbrittain ploughing match on Sunday, watched by his father, Patrick. (Photo: Denis Boyle)

Share this article

KILBRITTAIN Ploughing Association held their 34th annual ploughing match on Sunday last, February 12th, at Knockpogue, Kilbrittain. The high, elevated site led to ideal ground conditions underfoot. 

The deep soil, which was practically stone-free, led to many excellent banks of ploughing. However, the easterly wind made for very cold conditions with only the very committed ploughing enthusiasts coming to view the ploughing.

The end of the Cork West ploughing season is approaching with only two fixtures remaining and competitions are now becoming very intense to gain points to qualify for the team for the All-Ireland in Tullamore next September.

The judges were Paddy Harrington, Willie O’Donovan, Mossie Fleming and Philip Cotter from Cork East. They were highly impressed with the standard of ploughing across all classes.



Senior Class: 1st John Murphy, 2nd Jim Grace, 3rd Barry O’Sullivan, 4 tie between Stanley Deane and John A O’Donovan. 

Intermediate: 1st Geoffrey Wycherley, 2nd DJ Keohane, 3rd Jimmy Nyhan, 4th Jackie O’Driscoll.

Under 28: 1st Kieran Coakley, 2nd Ger Kirby, 3rd David Walsh.

Under 21: 1st James O’Sullivan, 2nd Aidan O’Donovan, 3rd Ian O’Farrell, 4th Andrew O’Donovan.

Farmerette: 1st Rachel O’Driscoll.

Macra: 1st Cian Harrington.

Senior Reversible: 1st Liam O’Driscoll, 2nd Jer Coakley, 3rd Michael Wycherley, 4th Oisin O’Brien.

Standard Reversible: 1st Jerry Creedon, 2nd Dan Hurley, 3rd Padraig Walsh, 4th Timothy Lawlor.

Three Furrow: 1st John Keohane, 2nd Matt Coakley.

Beginners Three Furrow: 1st Denis Cooper.

Trailer Vintage: 1st John Wolfe, 2nd Michael Bennett.

Confined Hydraulic Vintage: 1st Cian Ryan, 2nd Ite Wiserman.

Single Furrow: 1st Gordon Jennings.

Hydraulic Vintage: 1st John O’Neill, 2nd Denis Cummins, 3rd Maurice Sheehy, 4th Leslie Wolfe, 5th Michael Coomey.

Upcoming fixtures: 

Clogagh, this Sunday, February 19th; 

County Final at Cahermore on Sunday, February 26th.

Share this article

Related content


to our mailing list for the latest news and sport:

Thank You!

You have successfully been subscribed to SouthernStar newsletter!

Form submitting... Thank you for waiting.