Good year for West Cork ploughing reviewed

November 23rd, 2019 8:10 PM

By Southern Star Team

Kieran Keohane, chairman of Cork West Ploughing Association.

Share this article

THE annual general meeting of Cork West Ploughing Association was held recently at Coolcower House, Macroom, hosted by the Macroom Club. 

A full review of the year’s activities was undertaken. Kieran Keohane, chairman, congratulated the Cork West team that went to the All-Ireland in Carlow where there were four first prize winners – namely Jim Grace, winner of the intermediate class; John Wolfe, winner of the trailer vintage; Niall O’Driscoll, winner of the senior novice class, and Padraig Walshe, winner of the standard reversible cClass.

The chairman thanked all the team members who took part, most of them being well placed in their respective classes. He congratulated Kieran Coakley who won the Five Nations Championships, held in Carlow in conjunction with the All Ireland.

The election of officers took place and the following were elected: president - Dan Joe O’Driscoll, chairperson Kieran Keohane, secretary Michael Walsh, vice-chairperson DJ Courtney, treasurer John Hurley, PRO Richard White, Facebook officer Caroline Jennings.

The fixtures list for the coming year was then decided and is, as follows: January 5th, Macroom; January 12th, Bandon; January 19th, Clonakilty; January 26th, Kilmeen; February 2nd, Cahermore; February 9th, Timoleague; February 16th, Clogagh;  February 23rd, Kilbrittain – county ploughing finals 

Share this article

Related content


to our mailing list for the latest news and sport:

Thank You!

You have successfully been subscribed to SouthernStar newsletter!

Form submitting... Thank you for waiting.