Dunmanway school pays tribute to its pupils – past and present

June 9th, 2017 10:10 PM

By Southern Star Team

Ciara Walsh, overall student of the year, with Pat McKelvey Cork ETB. (Photo: Denis Boyle)

Share this article

Maria Immaculata Community College, Dunmanway hosted their 13th annual Awards ceremony recently.  

MARIA Immaculata Community College, Dunmanway hosted their 13th annual Awards ceremony recently.  

Guest speaker on the day was Pat McKelvey, director of schools, Cork ETB and original principal of MICC.  Mr McKelvey congratulated all present on the wonderful atmosphere in the school.  He was struck by the titles of the awards and how they are living the mission statement of the school.  He told the students they were not just winners, but ambassadors for the school community.

Caoimhe Hennessy, student of the year 2016, was also invited back to address students.  Caoimhe is now studying social science in UCC. Caoimhe told the students to cherish every moment in MICC and to avail of every opportunity available during their time in MICC.

Each year group was awarded a student of the year, and the overall student of the year was presented to Ciara Walsh

Awards Categories & Winners 2017:

Service to Fellow Students Junior Award:   Aidan Dugandzic. Service to Fellow Students Senior Award:  Lucy O’Donovan & Katie Murphy; Transition Year Award: Maria Verges; School Spirit Award First Year: Barry O’Sullivan;  School Spirit Award Second Year:  Anne O’Driscoll; School Spirit Award Third Year: Aoife Murphy; School Spirit Award Transition Year:  Aidan White; School Spirit Award Fifth Year:  Ciara Hurley; School Spirit Award Sixth Year:  Danielle Carroll; School Spirit Award Special Class:  Emily Cotter; Enterprise and Initiative Award:  Mikey Collins;  Library Award:  Dearbhla O’Donovan; Special Achievement Award:  Fiona Everard; Gaeilgeoir na Bliana:  Ciara Walsh;  First Year Endeavour Award: Aisling Tanner; Second Year Endeavour Award: Colman Crowley; Third Year Endeavour Award:  Aoife O’Driscoll; Fourth Year Endeavour Award:  Adam O’Sullivan; Fifth Year Endeavour Award:  Shane Galvin; Sixth Year Endeavour Award:  John Hourihan; Special Class Endeavour Award:  Eoin O’Reilly; Special Class Social Leadership Award:  Rachel O’Donovan; Junior Female Sports Award: Caithlin Hurley; Senior Female Sports Award: Aine Crowley & Siobhan O’Driscoll; Junior Male Sports Award: Peter Collins; Senior Male Sports Award: Jamie Lucey; Junior Arts Award:  Emma O’Neill; Senior Arts Award:  Tegan Hurley;  Junior Music Award: Anna Deane; Senior Music Award:  Evan Murray; Special Sports Achievement Award:  Senior Ladies Football Team; Garda Award Nomination:  Kieran & Keith Forbes; First Year Student of the Year Award:  Dearbhla O’Donovan; Second Year Student of the Year Award:  Ciara Ahern; Third Year Student of the Year Award:  Liadh Hennessy; Transition Year Student of the Year Award:  Maria Verges; Fifth Year Student of the Year Award: Mary O’Driscoll; Sixth Year Student of the Year Award:  Jack Farr; LCA Student of the Year Award:  Damien Cotter; Special Class Student of the Year Award:  Niamh O’Donovan; Overall Student of the Year Award:  Ciara Walsh.

Share this article