Bandon Show looks to build on success to secure future

May 30th, 2019 7:10 AM

By Kieran O'Mahony

Christopher, Stephanie and Samantha Stanley from Bandon with the overall champion Belgian Blue at the annual Bandon Agricultural Show (Photo: Denis Boyle)

Share this article

Organisers of Bandon Show, which was held at the showgrounds at Castlebernard last Sunday, are hoping to recruit to new members to continue the success of their show.

ORGANISERS of Bandon Show, which was held at the showgrounds at Castlebernard last Sunday, are hoping to recruit to new members to continue the success of their show.

Speaking to The Southern Star, following another successful show, which had one of the biggest crowds attending in years, chairperson of Bandon Agricultural Show Society, Anne Crowley, said they are eager to recruit new members, young or old.

‘We want to make sure we can continue the success of the show next year and we welcome anyone who would like to help us,’ said Anne.

‘A lot of hard work went into this year’s show and we want to thank all our members and the outside volunteers, Gardaí, Red Cross, our vets and our faithful supporters who come to the show every year.’

The glorious weather ensured that bumper crowds attended the show, which was a great family day out.

‘The exhibitors who came were very pleased with the organisation of the show and the actual grounds itself, while the judges all sang the show’s praises too,’ added Anne.

‘The weather was absolutely fantastic and the entries were up in all the competitions, including the very popular dog show, which was one of the most popular events. The Bandon Playground Group also organised fun novelty races which proved to be very popular.’

With the local and European elections approaching, it proved to be fertile ground for several candidates who attended the show to meet with the electorate. Tánaiste Simon Coveney was there to support MEP Deirdre Clune as well as giving support to local Fine Gael candidate Gerard Seaman. Bandon-based TD Deputy Margaret Murphy O’Mahony was there to lend her support to Fianna Fáil candidate Sean O’Donovan and European candidate Billy Kelleher.

‘They brought an atmosphere to the place too as they mingled with the public but also got to see what goes on at Bandon Show,’ said Anne.


Horses results

Ridden – Heavyweight: Rosarie Collins ‘Sheans Sunshine.’

Middleweight: Annie Prendergast ‘Sunrich King.’ 

Lightweight: Aidan Ryan ‘Cluainbeaya.’

4 Yr Old: Sinead Barry ‘The Silver Fox.’

Irish Draught: Declan O’Shea ‘Crossgales Lord.’

Small Hunter: Michaela Steyn Keating ‘JJ Lady Gregory.’

Cob: Gwen Murphy ‘Lakelands Lass.’

Side Saddle: Clare Nulty ‘Kiltiernan Cloncoe.’

Race Horse to Riding Horse: Cassandra Foley ‘Eoghans Delight.’

Working Hunter: Deirdre Connolly ‘Fairytale.’


Young horses

3 Yr Old Gelding: Julie Radden ‘Master Jack Brown.’

3 Yr Old Filly: Trevor Horgan ‘Point The Way.’

ISA Two Year Old Gelding:  Q Declan Fahey ‘Munther Magic’ & Billy Twomey ‘Chill Out’ x ‘Frenchfort Loughehoe Lady.’

2 Yr Old Gelding: 1st  Billy Twomey ‘Chill Out’ x ‘Frenchfort Loughehoe Lady.’

2 Yr Old Filly: 1st Billy Twomey ‘Latina Diamond.’

TIHA Limerick Lady: Q Eoin Jennings ‘Gairdin Mor Spirit.’

ISA Yearling Gelding/Colt: 1st Trevor Horgan ‘Road To Happiness’ x ‘Anonyme’ & Cyril Stephens ‘Birrinview Twinkle.’

Yearling Gelding; 1st Cyril Stephens ‘Birrinview Twinkle’

ISA Yearling Filly: Q Leo Cahalane ‘Golden Master’ x ‘Automatic Mover’ & Carina Mederle ‘Islandmore Midnight Spirit.’

Yearling Filly: 1st Leo Cahalane ‘Golden Master’ x ‘Automatic Mover.’

Coloured Led Horse: 1st Brendan Walsh ‘Split Decision.’


Broodmares & Foals

Barren/Maiden Mare: 1st Seamus Lehane ‘Ballard Peaches & Cream.’

Lightweight: 1st John Roche ‘Assagart Travelling Solo.’

Heavyweight Broodmare: 1st PJ Lehane ‘PJ’s Dream.’

Thoroughbred Broodmare: 1st Patrick McCarthy, ‘Merramar.’

Colt Foal: 1st   John Roche ‘Assagart DeLana.’

Filly Foal: 1st Patrick O’Sullivan ‘Leap Future Three.’

Irish Draughts

RID. Mare: 1st  John Roche ‘Assagert Kingstead Fiona.’

ISA Bantry Show ID Foal Qualifier: Sean Scannell ‘Tors Gentleman Farmer’ x ‘Knocknashee Princess.’

ID Colt/Filly Foal: 1st Sean Scannell ‘Tors Gentleman Farmer’ x ‘Knocknashee Princess.’

Yearling/Two Yr Old Potential ID Mare: 1st Russell Cowley ‘Cloneyhea Mayday.’

ISA ID Yearling Filly: Q Sean Scannell ‘Macroom Star.’

ISA ID 2YO Filly: Q Russell Cowley ‘Cloneyhea Mayday.’

Working ponies

Open 153: 1st Helen Enright ‘Ardfry Remy.’ 

Open 143: 1st Stephanie Quill Manley ‘My Romany Knight.’

Open 133: 1st Mikaela Hall ‘Wishfields Missy Moo.’

Mountain / Moorland: Helen Enright ‘Omey Darlin.’ 

Starter Stakes: Michelle Craik White ‘Blackberet Peacekeeper.’


Show hunter

Starter Stakes: Michelle Craik White ‘Blackberet Peacekeeper.’

Open 143: 1st Cheryl Cusack ‘Ballinten Lass.’

Open 133: 1st Abbey O’Neill ‘Glandores Earl of Beauty.’ 

Open 153: 1st Janet Burke ‘Aille Fountain Breeze.’

Riding Club Pony; 1st Katie O’Rourke ‘Twinkle.’ 


Led ponies

Yearling: 1st Emily Acton ‘Coosheen Thady Quill.’

2/3 Yr Old: Dermot Horgan ‘Hedgefield Enchantment.’

Welch – Pure Bred: 1st Leana Bartelink ‘Coppathorne My Mathias.’

Welch – Part Bred: 1st Dermot Horgan ‘Hedgefield Enchantment.’

Reg Connemara: 1st Alan Duggan ‘Coosheen Jason.’

Shetland or Miniature: 1st Oonagh O’Brien ‘CRH Princess’ (Peanut, the rescue pony).

Ridden show ponies

Lead Rein - Show Pony: Margaret Greene ‘Golden Grove Hero.’

Lead Rein - Show Hunter Ponies: 1st Margaret Greene ‘Mountain Ash of Glendhu.’

First Ridden: Margaret Greene ‘Mountain Ash of Glendhu.’

Mountain & Moorland Lead Rein: 1st Áine Brennan ‘Proclins Prince Charming.’

Open 138; 1st Louisa Robinson ‘Kilmacbea Heartbreaker.’ 

Open 128:  1st  Helena O’Doherty ‘Barford Party Time.’

Open 148: Breid Shannon ‘Absolutely Broadgrove.’

Welsh Purebred: Leana Bartelink ‘Blaenpentir Darach.’

Connemara Pure / Part-Bred: 1st Helen Enright  ‘Omey Darlin.’



Championship results – Dairy Cattle Section:

Champion Female Shorthorn - Bandon Co-Op Agricultural & Dairy Society Ltd Perpetual Cup: JJ Barrett.

Overall champion shorthorn: JJ Barrett.

Champion Jersey: D & P Roche.

Junior Friesian Champion: Gordon Kingston.

Champion Female Friesian – The Pat Dinneen Perpetual Cup: Ricky Barrett.

Protein Cow Championship – Allied Irish Banks Perpetual Cup: Ricky Barrett.

Group of Three – James O’Brien Perpetual Cup: Ricky Barrett.


Beef Cattle Section

Champion Male Hereford: Michael O’Keeffe.

Champions Female Hereford – James Murphy & Sons Perpetual Challenge Cup: Trevor Dudley.

Overall Champion Hereford – Mrs Pat Dinneen Cup: Trevor Dudley.

Champion Male Angus: Albert DeCogan.

Champion Female Angus: John O’Brien.

Overall Champion Angus – John Good (Bandon) Ltd Perpetual Challenge Cup: John O’Brien.

Champion Male Charolais: John Barry Moran.

Champion Female Charolais: Bobby O’Connell.

Overall Champion Charolais – T O’Leary & Sons Perpetual Cup: Bobby O’Connell.

Champion Male Limousin: Tim McCarthy.

Champion Female Limousin: Tim McCarthy.

Overall Champion Limousin – Irish Limousin Society Cup: Tim McCarthy.

Champion Male Simmental: Cotter Family.

Champion Female Simmental:  Tony O’Leary.

Overall Champion Simmental – Anne, Duchess of Westminster Cup: Cotter Family.

Champion Male Belgian Blue: Stanley Family.

Champion Female Belgian Blue – Kevin O’Mahony Memorial Perpetual Cup: Tim O’Donovan.

Overall Champion Belgian Blue – TSB perpreutal Cup: Stanley Family.

Overall Commercial Champion – The Rumley Perpetual Cup: Kevin McCabe. 

Share this article

Related content


to our mailing list for the latest news and sport:

Thank You!

You have successfully been subscribed to SouthernStar newsletter!

Form submitting... Thank you for waiting.