Ballyfeard starts off ploughing season

December 4th, 2015 7:28 PM

By Southern Star Team

John Webb, Minane Bridge, and Damien Quinn, Carrigaline, who took part in the Ballyfeard ploughing match on Sunday.

Share this article


THE Cork County Ploughing Championships resumed when the Ballyfeard Association held their postponed annual fixture on the lands of Donnagh and Alice McCarthy at Ballyvorane, between Ballyfeard and Nohoval. 

The sun shone brightly as the 40-plus competitors showed their ploughing skills on the spacious 20-acre field


Senior: 1 Kieran Coakley, 2 John Murphy, 3 Kevin O’Driscoll.

Intermediate: 1 Michael Hayes, 2 Michael Hannon, 3 Paschal Twomey.

Under 28: 1 Cian Keohane, 2Joe Twomey.

Under 21: 1 James O’Sullivan.

Senior Reversible: 1 Jimmy Cotter, 2 Paddy Harrington, 3 Jamie O’Sullivan.

Local Reversible: 1 Eoin Desmond, 2 Con Twomey, 3 Gerry O’Keeffe.

Three-Furrow: 1 James Prendergast, 2 Jimmy Barrett, 3 Pat O’Riordan.

Three-Furrow Standard-Reversible: 1 Padraig Walsh, 2 Jerry Creedon.

Beginners Reversible: 1 Damien Quinn, 2 David Griffin, 3 Brian Dunican.

Farmerettes: 1 Nollaig Harrington, 2 Patricia O’Sullivan, 3 Fiona Dunican.

Vintage Mounted: 1 Mike Coomey, 2 Michael Ryan, 3 Michael Walsh.

Vintage Trailer: 1 John Wolfe, 2 Denis Hennessy.  

Horse Class: 1 JJ Delaney.

 Furrow (local): 1 Chris McAullife, 2 Donal Coleman.  

Macra Class: 1 David Murphy.

Three-Furrow (Standard): 1 John Keohane.  

Single Furrow: 1 Trevor Fleming.

Share this article

Related content


to our mailing list for the latest news and sport:

Thank You!

You have successfully been subscribed to SouthernStar newsletter!

Form submitting... Thank you for waiting.