Cookies on The Southern Star website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We also use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the The Southern Star website. However, if you would like to, you can change your cookie settings at any time by amending your browser settings.
How does The Southern Star use cookies?
Cookies enable us to identify your device, or you when you have logged in. We use cookies that are strictly necessary to enable you to move around the site or to provide certain basic features. We use cookies to enhance the functionality of the website by storing your preferences, for example. We also use cookies to help us to improve the performance of our website to provide you with a better user experience.
We donít sell the information collected by cookies, nor do we disclose the information to third parties, except where required by law (for example to government bodies and law enforcement agencies).
Hide Message
  • Sport

Former Cork footballer OSullivan named on New York team

Wednesday, 30th April, 2014 4:04pm
Former Cork footballer OSullivan named on New York team

Denis O'Sullivan will start in the New York half-back line v Mayo.


FORMER Cork footballer Denis O’Sullivan has been named in the New York team that will play Mayo in Sunday's Connacht SFC quarter-final.

O’Sullivan, who was involved in a high-profile transfer from Ballinascarthy to neighbours Clonakilty last year, is the only Cork representative on the starting 15, while Newcestown’s Hugh Curran has been named on the bench.

The New York team includes just five players that started against Leitrim in the Gaelic Park last year.

New York team v Mayo: Gavin Joyce (Cavan NY/Ballymartin, Down); Ronan McGinley (Cavan NY/Errigal Ciaran, Tyrone), Gerard McCartan (Kerry NY/Burren, Down), Kieran O’Connor (Kerry NY/Listowel Emmett's, Kerry); Keith Scally (Westmeath NY/Tyrrellspass, Westmeath), Paul O’Connor (Cork NY/Kilmurry Ibrickane, Clare), Denis O’Sullivan (Cork NY/Clonakilty, Cork); Brendan Quigley (Captain, Donegal NY/Timahoe, Laois), Alan Raftery (Cork NY/Oranmore / Maree, Galway); Paddy Boyle (Donegal NY/Castlewellan, Down), Jason Kelly (Offaly NY/Shannonbridge, Offaly), Ross Wherity (Kerry NY/St Eunans, Donegal); Johnny McGeeney (Armagh NY/Culloville Blues, Armagh), Keith Quinn (Leitrim NY/Mayobridge, Down), Gary O’Driscoll (Kerry NY/Skellig Rangers, Kerry).


Stay up-to-date with the latest West Cork news with a Southern Star digital subscription on your phone, tablet or computer. Click here for more.