00:00 Saturday 21 January 2012 

Richie Harnedy wins Rosscarbery novice B final at Cahermore

RICHIE Harnedy won the Rosscarbery novice B final played in wet conditions on the Cahermore Road on Sunday afternoon last.

The Skibb man had over a bowl to spare on Niall Fitzgerald, Bauravilla, after a competitive duel played for a total of €3,200. The winner made few errors limiting his rival to just one fore bowl and was in control for the closing stages after an excellent tenth shot to De Barra's lodge.

Little separated them in the early shots at Fitzgerald knocked a thirty metre deficit to lead after a good fifth to the priest's house. Harnedy quickly regained the initiative with fine sixth and seventh efforts and that well-tracked tenth ensured the winner's prize at the after score presentation in the Abbey Bar.

Brian Coughlan, Caheragh, was another Carbery winner on Sunday last after he claimed the region's U21 trophy for 2011 with a two bowl win over Darren Shannon, Durrus, in the decider at Bauravilla. The final, held over from December, saw Coughlan in control at all points and he showed fine potential in two very good shots from Caheragh Cross to the netting.

Shannon, who upset the form book in eliminating previous two-time winner, David Shannon, in an earlier round at Schull, was not at his best on this occasion and, hard as he tried, could not get to grips with Coughlan's consistency. The Caheragh player who also won the Carbery novice C title in 2011, was a convincing winner by the end.

Flor Crowley won his tournament semi-final at Drinagh on Sunday morning. The recent Kilcrohane winner had over a bowl of odds on Dunmanway's Kevin O'Sullivan after a hard fought contest played in bad conditions. Crowley meets either David O'Mahony or Barry O'Donovan in the Drinagh decider. Carbery's only intermediate ranked player, Michael Bohane, was in fine form at Reenascreena on Saturday where he scored a two bowl win over John Shorten in a contest played on the eastern road. Sean O'Riordan scored a double at Ballydehob and Pat O'Sullivan, Shannonvale, won in the Cotter Cup at Terelton.


Carbery U21 final Bauravilla Sunday 15, Brian Coughlan defeated Darren Shannon two bowls.

Club results:

Rosscarbery: Novice B tournament final: Sunday 15th Richie Harnedy defeated Niall Fitzgerald one bowl for €3,200; return score Jimmy Collins (UH) defeated Noel Dempsey one bowl for €1,600.

Ballydehob: Sunday Sean O'Riordan defeated Donal Crowley and Muiris Buttimer both last shot for €1,500; return score Sean O'Riordan defeated Donal Crowley one bowl for €1,000.

Drinagh: Sunday 15th, Mick Keating Cup semi-final, Dan O'Halloran defeated Jerry Gibbons last shot for €2,800; Novice C tournament semi-final, Flor Crowley defeated Kevin O'Sullivan one bowl for €2,700; also Alan Keane defeated Paul Kingston last shot for €1,600.

Béal na mBláth: Saturday 14th, Padraigh O'Callaghan defeated Sean Kiely one bowl for €900; return score, Kiely defeated Padraigh O'Callaghan last shot for €1,000.

Durrus: Sunday 15th tournament, Colin Kingston defeated Pat Daly, one bowl for €600; return score Liam Hurley defeated Sean O'Regan last shot for €900.

Dunderrow: Saturday 14th, tournament final Daniel Cronin defeated PJ McCarthy last shot for €1,500; also Brendan O'Sullivan defeated Derrick Murphy last shot for €800.

Lyre: Sunday 15th, International Fund score: Brian Wilmot defeated Eamonn Bowen (Jun) last shot for €2,420. Return score: Adrian Wilmot defeated Tim Maloney last shot for €1,200; tournament fixtures: Francis O'Callaghan defeated Jimmy O'Farrell last shot of €500; Chris Murphy defeated Peter Kelly one bowl for €200.

Underage tournament

Phale Road: Boys' U16: Finbarr Coomey won from Jack O'Callaghan; Shane Love from Daniel O'Regan; Damien O'Gorman from Stephen Pyburn; Stephen O'Farrell from Diarmuid O'Callaghan; Martin Collins from Daniel Collins; Boys' U14: Martin Murphy won from Darren Whooley; Ronan O'Mahony from James Murray; Ciaran Tanner from Kevin Pyburn; U16 girls: Claire O'Sullivan won from Mairead O'Leary; Elaine Connolly from Emma Hickey; Mairead O'Driscoll from Jennifer Connolly; Lisa Hegarty from Ciara Buckley.

Reenascreena: Saturday 14th, Michael Bohane defeated John Shorten, two bowls for €2,960; return scores Pat McCarthy defeated Flor Crowley twice, one bowl and last shot for €500 each time.

Drimoleague: Novice C tournament quarter-final: David O'Mahony (D) defeated Barry O'Donovan one bowl for €600.

Terelton: Sunday 15th, Cotter Cup; Pat O'Sullivan (SV) defeated James O'Leary, one bowl for €800.

Kildee: Sunday, Sidney Shannon defeated Connie Connolly one bowl for €400.

Ballinacarriga: Sunday Chris Murray defeated Nigel Quinlan last shot for €1,200.

< Back