00:00 Saturday 30 July 2011  Written by Ailin Quinlan

Communities warned to be prepared to pay!

SOME funding is still available for local projects despite the recession -  but communities must be prepared to put their own shoulders to the financial wheel to go some way towards paying for the repair or upgrading of  their amenities, it has been declared.

The warning came  as four West Cork groups were approved for €45,000 in much-needed funding to carry out necessary work to upgrade community amenities including a town hall, car parking  and sports facilities and even improve access to a local beach - but others were disqualified because  they had insufficient funds of their own to put towards the project.

Three more projects in County Cork will receive €13,000 in once-off funding for similar community-orientated initiatives between now and Christmas.

Dunmanway has received  the go-ahead for  funding for two separate projects under Cork County Council's Community grant scheme.

The town's St Patrick's Hall is to receive €15,000 to carry out refurbishment works on the public toilets while  Dunmanway Town AFC also received  news that it is to get €10,000 to develop much-needed dressing rooms and shower facilities.

Adrigole GAA Club is in line for €10,000 to develop a fitness area, carparking and wastewater treatment plant upgrade while the Courtmacsherry Development Association is to get €10,000 to repair tennis court walls and improve beach access in the picturesque coastal village.  

Three more projects in County Cork will receive funding  in the coming months - Fleadh Cheoil na mBan in Ballincollig (€5,000), Feile Peile na n-Og (Cork city) (€5,000), and Coolagowen Entente Florale (€3,000).

'The Council makes annual contributions to a number of organisations from the Community Grant Fund. This will continue in 2011,' said Dunmanway-based independent Cllr Declan Hurley. 

However, he warned: 'It's very important for communities to realise that while Cork County Council will come some way towards helping to defray the costs, communities must be prepared to  put their own shoulder to the wheel and raise money themselves.'

Funding to the sum of €500,000 was approved in the 2011 Cork County Council Budget for this year's Community Grant Scheme. From a total of 72 applications received, just 24 applicants were successful, nine of which were sporting organisations, while 15 were community or non-sporting organisations. 

'The money will benefit the community and voluntary organisations in West Cork who work tirelessly all year round developing and enhancing their community amenities,' said  Cllr  Hurley.

He said the level of grant assistance under this scheme depended on a range of factors, including the type of project involved, the  availability of other sources of funding and the overall number of applications seeking funding under the scheme.  In all cases, groups seeking funding were required to generate a significant percentage of local matching funding.

Grants ranging from €10,000 to €30,000 were allocated to applicants who already had  significant levels of funding in place for their projects, he added. He said priority was given to projects which were likely to commence soon - either in the current year or early in 2012. A number of applications were unsuccessful.

< Back