00:00 Saturday 01 November 2008 

Cork football manager inspires students

CONOR Counihan, manager of the Cork Senior football team, was the guest of honour at the annual Éacht na Scoláirí Awards in Kinsale Community School recently where over 400 students, parents and staff packed into the school hall to honour the achievements of the Kinsale students in a variety of areas during the past year.

Pupils from the Leaving Cert. class of 2008 were also honoured for their outstanding results, with both Cian Gallagher and Nicholas Croke obtaining the maximum of 600 points, and on the night Nicholas was awarded the Senior Academic Award for getting seven A1s in his Leaving Cert.

Past pupils Liam McDade and Dylan Buckley were presented with the Civic Virtue Award for their work in helping achieve Fairtrade status for the school and for their work in promoting Kinsale as a Fairtrade town.

Year Heads gave a brief resumé on their year, announcing nominees for the Student of the Year, followed by the announcement of an overall winner. A number of other awards were presented on the night, including Young Scientists, President's Awards (Gaisce) and special Memorial awards for contribution to German, Business and the Arts.

Aidan McLaverty was given a special award in recognition of his representing Ireland and competing at a high level, both nationally and internationally, in sailing.

In the area of sport a number of awards were presented. Michael Desmond won the Senior Sports Award for his contribution to GAA, whilst Orla Finn won the Junior Sports Award for the outstanding part she played in helping Cork win the All-Ireland under 16 football championship.

In his address, Conor Counihan praised the students and their achievements. He joked that whilst his words of encouragement and exhortation to the Cork footballers during the summer were too colourful to use on Awards Night, especially in the presence of school principal Sr. Mary Donovan, the message was nonetheless the same - to keep on trying to succeed, even when it may appear that the task is too difficult to surmount!

AWARDS night

Students of Year: first year, Molly Gibson; second year, Amy Buckley; third year, Aishling McCarthy; fourth year, Aidan McCarthy; fifth year, Eoghan O'Loughlin; sixth year, Bronwyn Carpenter.

President's Awards - Gaisce: Niamh Cooney, Claire Crowley, Ben Fusco, Ciara Hayes, Joseph Kearney, Aisling Judge, Aishling McCarthy, Alan McCarthy, Hattie O'Connell, Eoin O'Leary, David O'Neill, Sinead O'Reilly.

Special Awards - Sailing: Aidan McLaverty. Young Scientist Competition: Aidan Doran, Lucy O'Donovan, Anna Henderson, Darcy McGahan, Emily O'Leary, Aileen O'Brien. Civic Virtue: Dylan Buckley, Liam McDade. Sinead Barry Memorial Award (Business Studies): Dylan Sheehan. European Youth Parliament: Ben Fusco. Catherine O'Byrne Memorial Award (German): Dylan Sheehan. Killian Ryan Memorial Award (Drama): Amy Murphy.

Sports Awards - Junior Sports Nominees: Alanna Allen, Ian Coleman, Alan Gould, Tessa Kingston, Vivienne Maher, Leighanne McCarthy, Aishling Moloney, Celia O'Driscoll, Ciara O'Leary, Jayne O'Leary, Alice O'Sullivan, Miriam Reardon, Jessica Sheehan, Orla Finn (overall winner). Senior Sports Nominees: Pascalia Barnett, Robert Daly, Timmy Harrington, Ciara Hayes, Brendan Holland, Vikki Hurley, Darragh McCarthy, Derry O'Callaghan, Aileen O'Leary, Gearoid O'Leary, Sinead O'Reilly, Emily O'Regan, Yasmin Rohan, Mike Sheehan, Michael Desmond (overall winner).

Academic Awards: Bronwyn Carpenter, Art, Biology, History; Jack Coldrick, Biology; Ciara Collins, Biology; Jack Coonan, English; Nicholas Croke, Accounting, Applied Maths, Chemistry, English, Maths, Physics, Religion; Richard Crowley, Accounting, Agricultural Economics, Chemistry, Maths, Physics; Michael Desmond, Construction Studies, Engineering; Edward Finn, Engineering; Niall Flynn, English; Cian Gallagher, Applied Maths, Biology, Chemistry, French, Maths, Physics; Martina Hayes, Biology, Technical Graphics, Physics; Dan Lordan, Applied Maths, Maths; Sarah Maxwell, French, Irish, Music; Aidan McLaverty, Physics; Andrew Moynihan, French, Irish; Fiona O'Brien, Biology, Geography, Religion; Derry O'Callaghan, Chemistry; Emily O'Regan, Maths, Physics, Religion; Dylan Sheehan, Accounting, Art, Business, German, Maths; Junior Academic Award, Olivia Fitzgerald, Peter Graef, Sarah Mulcahy, Catherine O'Brien.

Leaving Certificate Applied Award: Nicole O'Brien. Senior Academic Award: Nicholas Croke.

< Back