Donal Óg is crowned U21 Player of the Year

A night to remember: Aoife O'Brien, Donal Óg Hodnett, Munster U21 Footballer of the Year, Siobhán and Donal Hodnett, Niamh Hodnett and Jerry O'Brien, Skibbereen, at the Bord Gais Energy Munster GAA Awards held in The Malton Hotel, Killarney on Saturday night. (Photos: Eamonn Keogh)


THERE were five reasons for Cork GAA to celebrate at the Bord Gáis Energy Munster GAA Awards that were held at the Malton Hotel in Killarney last Saturday night.

With five Cork winners of the now annual awards, it was also a great night for West Cork, as Donal Óg Hodnett picked up his Munster U21 Footballer of the Year award, while Barryroe native John Motherway was honoured with a Services to Refereeing award.

Also, Bríd Stack was named Munster Ladies’ Footballer of the Year, Donncha O’Connor was crowned Munster Senior Footballer of Year, while Denis Coughlan (Cork) was a worthy winner of the Hall of Fame Football Award.

O’Donnovan Rossa footballer, Donal Óg Hodnett was a worthy recipient of the U21 Football Player of the Year award after inspiring Cork’s U21s to Munster glory earlier this year, scoring 1-1 in this year’s final, to follow the 1-4 he scored in last year’s decider – both against Kerry.

Meanwhile, John Motherway, a native of Barryroe, was rewarded with the Services to Refereeing award.

John, who went east to Aghada to work in Calor Gas, began his refereeing career in the 1970s, and officiated at three East Cork finals and two county senior hurling finals, 1995 and 1999, as well as a variety of other county finals.

For a number of years, he was the top referee in the county.

Having finally hung up his whistle, he has continued to serve as a referees’ tutor, travelling the length and breadth of the province delivering courses to both new and established referees, and even passing on his expertise to referees in the United States.

He has served on the National Referees’ Committee, and as referees’ administrator in Cork, and continues his role as a mentor right up to the present day.

Cork ladies’ football captain Bríd Stack, meanwhile, can add this latest award to her list that includes seven All-Ireland titles, five All-Stars, nine Munster seniors, six National League Division 1 titles, and much more. And the classy Rebelette is still just 25 years old.

Also, Munster Senior Footballer of the Year Donncha O'Connor picked up his fourth provincial senior football championship medal in 2012, scoring six points in the semi-final win over Kerry, a game in which he was named man-of-the-match.

Dual Cork GAA legend, Denis Coughlan won the Hall of Fame in Football award, having played hurling and football with his clubs, Glen Rovers and St Nick’s respectively.

He has won no less than three All-Ireland and five Munster senior hurling titles, one All-Ireland and four Munster senior football titles, along with Railway Cup medals in both hurling and football and a variety of club and other honours.

Full list

The full list of Bord Gáis Energy Munster GAA Award winners for 2012 are as follows:

Minor Footballer of the Year: Colman Kennedy (Tipperary)

U21 Hurler of the Year: Tony Kelly (Clare)

Intermediate Hurlers of the Year: David Butler (Tipperary)

Junior Footballer of the Year: David Callaghan (Kerry)

Minor Hurler of the Year: John McGrath (Tipperary)

U21 Footballer of the Year: Donal Óg Hodnett (Cork)

Camogie Player of the Year: Fiona Lafferty (Clare)

Ladies’ Footballer of the Year: Bríd Stack (Cork)

Handballer of Year: John Ferncombe (Tipperary)

Services to Refereeing Award: John Motherway (Cork)

Services in Education Award: Tim O’Byrne (Waterford)

Media Award: Weeshie Fogarty (Kerry)

Distinguished Service Award: Harry Greensmyth (Limerick)

Special Merit Award: Michael McDonnell (Limerick)

Hall of Fame Football Award: Denis Coughlan (Cork)

Hall of Fame Hurling Award: Pat Hartigan (Limerick)

Club of Year: Dr Crokes (Kerry)

Senior Hurler of Year: Patrick ‘Bonner’ Maher (Tipperary)

Senior Footballer of Year: Donnacha O'Connor (Cork)

GAA Managers of Year: Donal Moloney and Gerry O’Connor (Clare).

< Back